Poem Written By A Castaway of Love

January 17, 2014 at 7:33 pm (History, Poetry) (, , )

Poem Written By A Castaway of Love

What am I lying on the ground
a sprinkling of blood about me?
I am a castaway of love
A sacrifice for your twisted passions
you cut me aside without a second thought
and cast me away.

Why? oh why?
Haven’t I always been by your side?
Wasn’t I always there to listen to your rantings?
Wasn’t I the one who heard your cries in the night?

I may not have seen the first woman you slept with
I may not have seen the first picture you painted
but I always knew your passion for art
your zest for beauty
your chasing after all that delights the eye

I may not have seen what you saw
but I heard
I understood your cries
your sobs
and your shouts of joy
Those exclamations you gave to the world
with your paintbrush as your exclamation mark.

Because I heard
I listened
I understood
Because I was always at your side.

But you cut me off
and cast me to the ground
like a piece of meat.

I may not have been a bosom companion
but I was always at your side.

But now I lie here
wounded and bleeding on the ground
cut off by you
cast aside by you
a sacrifice to your twisted passions
a castaway of love.

Will you now paint a picture without me?

Why? Oh Vincent? Why?

-A poem that might have been written by Vincent Van Gogh’s ear if Vincent Van Gogh’s ear could have written poetry

-A poem written by Christopher
Friday January 17th 2014

Leave a Reply

