O Darkling Thrush

February 17, 2014 at 8:10 pm (Commentary, Literature, Personal essays, Poetry) (, , , )

O Darkling Thrush

O Darkling thrush is that your song I hear on Vancouver street
As snow hits U.S. east and Australia swelters in the heat
For four long years my life was spectre-grey
And winter’s dregs froze my heart away
Only tangled bine-stems lined the sky
And all hope seemed to die
The land’s sharp features really were a Century’s corpse outleant
As I wrote of truths long forgot in a world that worshipped the opulent
All around me was death’s dark canopy
how long would it be until he came for me?
The ancient pulse of germ and birth
choked from life my joy and mirth
And as waves crashed and thunder roared
And volcano rumbled from the earth’s core
These events of weeks past
of gale force wind and wintery blast
It seemed every spirit on earth was as ferverlous as I
It seemed sun would melt and earth would die.

But has that aged thrush frail, gaunt and small
landed among the Towers of Gloom so tall
and dared to sing his song of hope
in a world that cannot cope
Has he sung his happy good-night air
Some blessed hope whereof he knew
And I was unaware.
I pray God, ’tis so, ’tis so.

The Darkling Thrush by Thomas Hardy was my dad’s favourite poem. When my dad died from cancer four years ago, I had the poem Hardy’s The Darkling Thrush read aloud at my dad’s funeral in his honour.
Since that time, I had a nasty legal battle with my sister over my dad’s Estate, I was forced to move out of the only house I had known since childhood and in this time of severe trouble and misfortune, I did find out who my real friends were and I found out I didn’t have many.
So 14 months ago, I moved to a new city, Vancouver on Canada’s West Coast to begin my life anew.
And in that time, my dad’s Estate still wasn’t settled as the incompetent lawyer my well-meaning but business matters inept godfather the Executor hired to look after my dad’s Estate failed to do the proper paperwork and make government deadlines thus dragging out the matter for years.
Then a lying crooked property restoration company launched a claim against my dad’s Estate for work they never did.
Finally last week I finally received the Final Forms of Release Letters for my dad’s Estate.
Today I finally managed to find a Notary in Vancouver who charged a reasonable fee and not an arm and a leg for witnessing and notarizing the signing of those documents.
Hopefully now the song of the Darkling Thrush is now breaking forth in my life and I wrote the above poem in tribute to my dad’s favourite poem The Darkling Thrush by Thomas Hardy.

-written by Christopher
Monday February 17th
2014.

Leave a Reply

