The Tricks Dreams Play: A Poem

April 16, 2015 at 6:21 pm (Life, Poetry) (, )

The Tricks Dreams Play: A Poem

Stay soft gentle night
sway breeze in moonlight
water reflects on ocean calm
scent of jasmine a soothing balm
the stars rise and bid hello
fishes jump from seas below
a union of land, sea and sky
images of paradise by and by
I rush towards the open sea
hoping to catch a glimpse of thee
you stand there in silhouette
you whose face I’ll ne’er forget
you step out from the waves and shadows
I run towards that’s how it goes
and I awaken in bed sheets and clothes
O deceptive sleep! What pain you’ve wrought!
For one brief moment, hope and joy I’ve got
then I awaken and it’s all for nought.

-A poem written by Christopher
Thursday April 16th 2015.

16 Comments

  1. Nicholas C. Rossis said,

    Paradise lost?

    • draculvanhelsing said,

      Yes, Paradise Lost indeed.

      I was having a wonderful dream a couple of nights ago and then I woke up.

      I guess the thing was it felt so real- that I thought it was real.

      Hence the disappointment and this poem that it inspired.

    • draculvanhelsing said,

      I hope so too, Nicholas.

      It seems my life has read like one long Book of Job: The Sequel ever since my dad died of cancer 5 years ago.

      • Nicholas C. Rossis said,

        Oof, that’s hard alright. Sorry to hear it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

        Let’s hope it’s true what they say; that the sky is darkest just before the break of dawn.

    • draculvanhelsing said,

      Amen to that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sherrie de Valeria said,

    Damn! Damn! You are TERRIBLY GOOD! Oh, damn again!
    I looooooove this!
    Never mind if it is Paradise Lost. It is unique!

    • draculvanhelsing said,

      Thank you very much, Sherrie. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Of course this poem has nothing to do with Milton’s Paradise Lost.

      I’m just referring to Paradise lost in the sense of a beautiful dream being lost.

      I’m so glad you enjoyed this.

      It was all your beautiful love poems that you’ve been writing recently that inspired me to write this.

      Since at this particular juncture in my life, the only love I’m finding these days is in my dreams, that’s why I wrote about a dream I had.

      • Sherrie de Valeria said,

        I am glad that I inspire you in some ways. To influence people with words is powerful and I would love to inspire people with positive thinking and beauty! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • draculvanhelsing said,

      And your poetry is full of positive thoughts and beauty, my friend

    • draculvanhelsing said,

      ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sherrie de Valeria said,

    Reblogged this on MY.THOUGHTS.MY.LIFE.MY.WORLD. and commented:
    This is a beautiful poem written by my friend Chris – DraculVanHelsing.
    Do enjoy this brilliant writer, poet, Haikuist. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

