Reflections On An Early November Evening: A Poem

November 2, 2015 at 8:10 pm (Life, Personal essays, Poetry) ()

Reflections On An Early November Evening: A Poem

Gentle melody in my mind
source of all that’s good and kind
Songs of my childhood are most familiar now
songs current on radio cease to wow
an exile’s life is a lonely one
stand and watch the setting sun
The ending of the day is done
True friends live so far away
Far beyond where night meets day
I long to live and long to love
Where are those blessings from above?
I am so tired, so tired
wish I were more inspired
To have faith as a grain of mustard seed
That is what I truly need
I’m in a moment of desert though I live by the sea
Like those birds that fly above, I yearn to be free.

-A poem written by Christopher
Monday November 2nd
2015.

20 Comments

  1. Nicholas C. Rossis said,

    Very beautiful and poignant. If it’s any consolation, I’ve been there. It may feel like it’s forever, but it’s not.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks, Nicholas.

      I’ve spent the past 6 months looking for a job in Vancouver but am getting no call backs.

      I thought I was out of money in my bank account to pay this month’s rent.

      Turns out I had enough left to pay this month’s rent but I’m definitely out for next month.

      So unless I find a job this month or by some miracle get one of my writings officially published or turned into a Hollywood blockbuster, I’ll be homeless next month.

      • Nicholas C. Rossis said,

        I’m so sorry to hear that! That’s awful! I’ll pray for that miracle to happen. God knows you deserve it.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thank you very much, Nicholas.

        I appreciate that.

  2. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    This brings tears to my eyes.
    Anyone who reads this can relate to it.
    I wish you love, blessings, faith, freedom and much more, Chris!
    (((HUGS)))

  3. Φ†Ι¦Ι›Κ€Κ€Ι¨Ι› Ι–Ι› Κ‹ΗŸΚŸΙ›Κ€Ι¨ΗŸ said,

    And you are that special friend whom I really admire and love. Don’t be sad, Chris. All good things comes to good people.

    **HUG**

  4. Hyperion said,

    A beautiful and touching poem, Chris. Our darkest hour can also be our greatest. That’s when the most important decisions are made and some of the best prose is inspired. Keep the faith and keep writing these works of art.

Leave a Reply

