Cold Night: A Poem

November 16, 2015 at 8:27 pm (Commentary, News, Poetry) (, , , )

Cold Night: A Poem

Cold night
winter has arrived
Chilly air surrounds
A few places have put up Christmas lights
adding a cheery warmth to the air

Lights here
but two nights ago
the lights in the Eiffel Tower were out
signifying lives lost

Over a century ago on the eve of the First World War, Sir Edward Grey the British Foreign Secretary said,
The lights have gone out all over Europe
And we shall not see them lit again in our lifetime.

It is 101 years later and looking back at the history of Europe and the world since then,
we are still waiting for those lights extinguished on that August night of 1914 to be lit again.

-A poem written by Christopher
Sunday November 15th
2015.

18 Comments

  1. ֆɦɛʀʀɨɛ ɖɛ ʋǟʟɛʀɨǟ said,

    Odd to see that tower was dark …

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Yes, very odd.

      Odd and surreal.

      What strange dangerous times we live in.

      Do you know anyone who lives in Paris, Sherrie?

      I believe you mentioned once in one of your blog posts that you’ve visited Paris a few times.

      • ֆɦɛʀʀɨɛ ɖɛ ʋǟʟɛʀɨǟ said,

        Yes, few of my family members. Many of my cousins married to French guys. And a few good friends there too.
        And including the friends of my girls.
        We drive up there more of often in spring & summer.
        I’ll drive up there to stay for a week at a friend as she invited me for early Christmas gathering. I’m coming alone with my 2 years old boy. The other kids are still in school and grandma will take care of them. Pity that the school holiday does not starts now – kids want Christmas now. 😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Hopefully your family and your friends and your daughter’s friends are all okay.

        Yes, I imagine your kids are pretty excited about Christmas coming and want it now. LOL !

      • anaatcalin said,

        I hope your family and friends are okay, Sherrie! Do you know the region of Auvergne? I knew it through my mom and fell in love with it. It’s what makes me love France.

      • ֆɦɛʀʀɨɛ ɖɛ ʋǟʟɛʀɨǟ said,

        Yes, I know where it is. It’s the heart of France or in the heart of France. But I haven’t been there before. I’ve been travelling a lot in French. Recently I drove up to La Cité de Carcassonne and the next day drove to Castelnaud and Beynac. And the last visit was Belves, around La Roque Gageac and Castlenaud. Then drove home after that.

        I have not load up the pics yet and do some editing. But the next blog will be! 🙂

  2. anaatcalin said,

    This poem makes me miss a cozy rural Christmas, Chris. Fairy tales with good guys always winning and happy ends. Those kinds of fairy tales Grandma would tell you by a Christmas tree and a mug of hot milk…

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      That sounds like a delightful Christmas, Ana. 🙂

      Being in the countryside at Christmas and listening to good stories by the fireplace and drinking hot chocolate.

      Heavenly. 🙂

  3. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    Beautiful, poignant poem, Chris.
    Yes, we understand why the lights are out, but we do await them shining again.
    (((HUGS)))

  4. Hyperion said,

    History is littered with the bones of Armies and the fallen blocks of Empires built on the bloodied backs of the innocent crushed under the boot of nefarious intent and avarice. The IS scourge of humanity will join those littered fields. Their putrid ideology will perish with them. The good people of the world will not be subjugated to the tyranny of hate and terror for long.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Indeed they will not, Daniel.

      • Hyperion said,

        Time is a relative thing. The timeline of IS’ demise might not suit our sense of time but from history’s perspective, their time is short.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Speaking of time, that reminds me of the song As Time Goes By from the movie Casablanca.

        And tonight I just posted to my blog a poem I wrote this past November 9th called Casablanca: A Poem As Film Review.

        But last November 9th, seeing as how I had posted a haiku about the film Casablanca the night before (Sunday November 8th), I decided to wait a while before posting my longer free verse poem.

        But I’ve just posted it tonight. 🙂

      • Hyperion said,

        Can’t wait to read it. Chris 😃

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        🙂

Leave a Reply

