Jack O’ Hare At The North Pole: A Poem

December 6, 2015 at 8:12 pm (Children's Story, Folklore, Humour, Poetry) (, , , )

Jack O’ Hare At The North Pole: A Poem

The rabbit’s name was Jack O’ Hare
he hopped on by a polar bear
He was in the land of midnight dark
listening to the cry of husky bark
His fur now white as Arctic snow
he was a hare who travelled to and fro
Now he was headed to the North Pole
Santa’s toyshop his distant goal

He came to a town with lights aglow
that reflected off the midnight snow
the town’s lights were made of bright candy cane
there was one that stood on every lane
He came to a barber shop with a barber pole
and said to himself “That is the North Pole”
He heard Santa’s voice ringing across the snow
chortling a crisp snowy “Ho-Ho- Ho!”
They were words to which Kim Kardashian might take offense
even though her butt caused the Internet so many dents

Jack O’ Hare said hello
While elves were feeling mellow
they sang a happy song
this little elvish throng
and Jack when he dropped off his Christmas list
stopped to give Mrs. Claus a merry kiss
This caused Santa to fly into a jealous rage
leaving open the reindeer cage
and the flying reindeer were off in a jiff
causing Santa to undergo another tiff

As Santa sent his lasso into the midnight sky
Jack O’ Hare said good-bye
There was Santa on the moon
tripping over fork and spoon
as the cow mooed a cowshed tune.

-A Jack O’ Hare poem
written by Christopher
Sunday December 6th
2015.

28 Comments

  1. ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

    Santa : Ho Ho Ho!
    Me : Yo Yo Yo!
    Santa : ???
    Me : Blinking – staring – for a few seconds.
    Santa : What was that all about?
    Me : I was just trying to be cool – like my kids. They always said, “Yay ho, brother!”
    Santa : *blinking hard* and then laughing so hard that his belly shake
    Me : What is so funny?
    Santa : You are cool!
    Me : Well, you too! With the Ho!
    Santa : *leave some presents for the kids under the Christmas tree*
    Me : Thank you, Santa! Here is a glass of milk and Christmas cookies.
    Santa : *got fainted after that*
    Me : Oh …. shit … *turning around to see the round table where the foods are and slapped my forehead* I gave Santa the wrong cookies … Oh … dear …
    Elves & Leprechaun co (just came in after Santa’s alarm set in) :*mouth gaping and looking to me* What did you do to Claus?
    Me : *grinning* I gave him the wrong cookies! Those are with magic mushrooms in it. He’ll be STONE for days … No worry … *giggling*
    Elves & Leprechauns co. : You get no gift from us!
    Me : Well, he didn’t give anything to me either.
    Elves : You are naught, Miss Sherrie!
    Leprechaun : You are bad, Miss Sherrie!
    Kids came in after hearing noises and was shocked. But then they were jumping around in happiness.
    Kids : Mommy! You are so cool. Santa is stone! Santa is stone! Can we keep his bag of gifts then?
    Elves & Leprechaun co. : *shaking their heads and rolled their eyes*
    Me : *looking naughty* hehehehe …

    Then in the background, the music of Christmas songs with cowshed tune. LOL (✿◠‿◠)

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      So you gave Santa magic mushroom cookies and now he’s stoned! 😀

      LOL !

      He does look stoned in that particular gif. 😛

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        LOL
        My fault!
        Naughty Miss Sherrie-lock!
        The good twin Miss Sherry is the one who has the manners. Not the Holmes twin.
        Like Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde!
        ;D

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Miss Sherrie-lock’s naughty and Miss Sherrie’s nice.

        So Santa never gave Sherrielock any presents.

        That’s why she stoned his milk and cookies with magic mushrooms. 😀

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        It was all in the plan. He got STONED over the years and that’s why no one sees him flying the deers anymore. The deers got drunk after that! LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        All in the plan eh? LOL !

        Did you read that entry listed there about Jack O’ Hare on Mount Kinabalu?

        I forgot I wrote that until it showed up here under Related Entries.

        I wrote it back in 2011 apparently.

        It was my friend Rez from Xanga who told me the legend that inspired me to write the poem.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Mount Kinabalu is in the next region in Sabah. I came from Borneo. 🙂

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Oh, then you’re not from the Sarawak region like Kriztina was from, then?

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Sarawak is Borneo, my dear Chris. Borneo is the old name before they exchanged it to Sarawak. I am a Sarawakian. hehe …
        (✿◠‿◠)

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, I thought Sarawak was Borneo because Rez said she was descended from the head hunters of Borneo- a disclosure which I found quite frightening. LOL !

        I think I remember now- she said she had taken her nieces on vacation to Mount Kinabalu and told me the legend surrounding it.

        So I wrote a poem on the legend. 🙂

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        My mother’s ancestors are head hunters too. Well, was. Fierce warriors and yet they only do that when evil enemies threatening the villages. My greatgrandfather was a head hunter as well. But that all died aways after the missionaries came and we were under the British colony.

        If Rez said she was descended from the head hunters, then she is one of my people called as “Bidayuh” folk. Perhaps I might know her??? 😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, you might know her, Sherrie. 🙂

        She was RestlessButterfly at Xanga.

        What does Bidayuh mean? 🙂

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Ah, ok … that ReslessButterfly. I knew her too short a time.
        Bidayuh is one of Sarawak’s folk.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Everyone I’ve met who’s Bidayuh seems to have an excellent and unique sense of humour including you, Rez and her two nieces Jessenia and Arrabella.

        You’re obviously an intelligent folk as well since you all seem to enjoy my writing. 😀

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        You know, when you mentioned about this, I remembered once an old ex-British patriot (who was my great grandfather’s best friend), told him that it seems that the Bidayuh folk are like the lost and rare Jews. He did joked on it if we are half the Jew because the Jews are special people with special characters. He himself got married to a Bidayuh woman and long live happily marriage till the end of his lifetime. Nothing to compare with British women, he said. LOL

        I think we are a gentle folk and we had a hard life, but we live the day with humor to forget the worries and troubles. The old people would sing during work plantation with funny verses which make the other workers laugh and there are story telling between the paddy branches and pepper berries or even when they all do washing down the river … Funny folk, they are.
        ❁◕ ‿ ◕❁

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Seeing the humour in things – that’s a wonderful gift to have- it helps one get through the day. 🙂

        I remember the first time I started conversing with Rez in my blog comments, I had never meant anyone with a sense of humour like her- it was so different and unique and wonderful.

        Then when I met you and started conversing with you in blog comments, you had the same unique sense of humour I discovered.

        That’s when I thought how wonderful it would be someday to visit Sarawak and meet people whose sense of humour I enjoy and who seem to enjoy my sense of humour. 🙂

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Bidayuh are a gentle people (even though we are descendant of head hunters). But also extremely shy. If it happen you meet a Bidayuh, he or she would smile all the way and not speaking at first, they would giggle the whole way … You think they must be a pyscho or something. No worry. They won’t do anything scary … hehehe … 😛

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thanks for warning me, Sherrie.

        LOL !

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        You are so welcome, my dear friend!
        (✿◠‿◠)

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL ! 🙂

  2. anaatcalin said,

    So cool, the O’Hare rabbit! Very witty 🙂 I love poems that actually have rhyme very much. Was never good at poems (I don’t enjoy writing them either) and I don’t remember much of the rhyme theory I learned in college, but I can appreciate good rhyme, witty poems poems. I know how hard they are to do, and you nailed it 🙂 Sherrie’s poem is mega cool too. Where do you guys get the ideas?

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Jack O’ Hare was a wild hare jack rabbit who lived in the back yard of my dad’s house.

      I’ve written quite a number of poems about him over the years. 🙂

  3. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    Ho Ho Holy Cow! Santa’s life is like a soap opera…Personally, I’d call it The North Pole Naughties…as The North Pole is not just a reference to where Santy lives! 😉 😛
    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…Jack O’Hare is one of my fav characters! 🙂

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      LOL !

      Only you Carolyn would come up with the idea that the North Pole is not only a reference to where Santa lives. 😀

      Glad to hear that Jack O’ Hare is one of your favourite characters. 🙂

      • doesitevenmatter3 said,

        Maybe some day I’ll exchange my mind for a decent one. But, don’t hold your breath! 😉 😛

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        All right, Carolyn. LOL !

        If you want to read some naughty and witty dialogue, go to hyperionsturm.wordpress.com and look at the comments section in his last 2 blog posts and read the comments between Daniel, Sherrie and myself.

        They’re naughty witty comments which I’m sure you’ll enjoy. 😀

        And they’re also all about spanking- which I’m also sure you’ll enjoy. 😉

  4. Hyperion said,

    Excellent poem Chris and you are right, the comments section can often provide extended entertainment, LOL! 😀

Leave a Reply

