The Unicorn

December 8, 2015 at 8:22 pm (Poetry, Vampire novel) (, , , )

The Unicorn

In the Blue Canadian Rockies
of which Vera Lynn so magnificently sang
today Dracul Van Helsing wandered not on the banks of Lake Louise of which she sang
but a mountain stream near Banff
frozen with ice and covered by majestic white snow
The trees had now shed their autumn fashions of gold, red and rusty brown
in exchange for coverings of luminous white
which sparkled and sang silent songs of praise
in honour of Jack Frost their designer.

This fairy tale world seen in snow globes
now come alive in reality
The occasional deer walked by
and Dracul bowed in greeting to these majestic creatures.

They stared at him strangely
wondering why he didn’t hold up small objects that flashed light
the way other creatures of his kind did when they saw us- we deer folk

But for Dracul- a glimpse of these majestic creatures with his eyes was enough
They would go as images to the camera that was his memory
No need to make idols of these gentle creatures and post their images on the walls of Temples called Facebook and Instagram
For they were not gods
The deer knew they were not gods
Only foolish creatures of Dracul’s own kind fancied themselves gods
and thought they could impart this godhood by a Benediction of a flash of light shot forth by these tiny objects they carried.

And so Dracul walked along the path
which followed the snow covered brook
An occasional snow white covered rabbit hopped by and looked at him
They reminded him of his friend from many years back- Jack O’ Hare
They looked, said Hello with their eyes and then hopped off their respective ways

Dracul knelt down by the brook
to glance at an open spot of flowing water
amidst the snow and the ice
He looked down at the reflection in the water
and that’s when he saw it- the shiny white silver horn that sparkled and glistened despite the lack of sun in the wintery cloud swept day
He looked up
and there stood a horse of pure white
truly as white as the fallen snow.

And on its head a single horn
whose luminosity would outshine the magnificence of any jewel in any crown
The majestic creature looked at Dracul
And Dracul looked at the majestic creature.

Their eyes met
a reading of souls
The Unicorn felt Dracul’s pain and sorrow
The thorns that had pierced his heart, soul and mind the past few years
And Dracul felt the Unicorn’s love and peace.

There were some who said the Unicorn no longer existed
There were many who said the Unicorn never existed
There was one- the Transhumanist scientist Dr. Cadbury Rocher
who thought he could through DNA manipulation
genetically create a Unicorn.

The foolishness of these fancies born of cynicism and sheer materialism
And the phantasms that might spring from the mind of megalomania and hubris
They were nothing when compared to the real thing-
the real Unicorn.

The Unicorn imparted his blessing, bowed and went on its way
Dracul walked on with a feeling
of what it felt the first Christmas Day.

-A Dracul Van Helsing poem
written by Christopher
Tuesday December 8th
2015.

28 Comments

  1. anaatcalin said,

    This is like a Christmas fairy tale, it reminds me of Hans Christian Andersen for some reason. Only that this is very profund, I can already imagine my Lit teacher breaking it down in big and small symbols. She’d rub her hands now with eagerness at so much material 🙂

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks very much, Ana. 🙂

      Yes, I intended this as a fairy tale poem for Christmas since the Christmas season is approaching.

      And your Lit teacher would probably have a field day with the symbolism all right.

      The history of who the Unicorn represented in the Middle Ages would certainly help a Lit teacher in interpreting this poem.

      • anaatcalin said,

        She would be all over it!!! And force us to the library to read a thousand critics on symbolism:) I’ll never forget that, it was so a lot, every day 6 hours in school, then another 4 in the library, and THEN homework. Romanian high school was no walk in the park, but it did the right thing for me. I love it so much still, that I’m doing it today of my own free will LOL. I mean look what I’m spending my morning coffee with. Well, second coffee. Now I’m off to Daniel’s works, I love them as well.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thanks, Ana. 🙂

        Glad you enjoy my writing and find a lot of substance in it that you can ponder and analyze.

  2. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    I have tears in my eyes! The word-pics you have painted are so vivid and beautiful! and the message so important and deep!
    Often those “one-of-a-kind” creations have the most understanding, peace, and love because they have endured great suffering.
    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…I put up a silly Christmas-y post today! 🙂

  3. Nicholas C. Rossis said,

    I’m so happy for you 🙂

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks, Nicholas. 🙂

      A poetic fantasy about visiting Banff National Park in the Alberta Rockies and seeing a unicorn.

  4. ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

    A sad Christmas poem of the great Dracul.
    But the line where you wrote as you look into the eyes of the soul of the Unicorn just as it stares at you, you both’d bonded in a way that no one else can really explain.

    It is a beautiful last line there, but I can feel a sudden pang of loneliness in it … just I felt mine as well. *sigh*

    I wish you a lovely weekend, my dear friend!

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks very much, Sherrie.

      Yes, there was a pang of loneliness in this poem.

      This is a world where Christ seems to be absent, no doubt because He was cast out from the hearts of men.

      To encounter Christ would be like encountering a Unicorn in a forest.

      I’m so sorry about the lonely Christmas you’ll be spending this year, Sherrie.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Thank you, Chris.
        I am glad that I have my kids with me.
        I cannot imagine having to live this life without them surrounding me.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, I hope you and your kids have a wonderful Christmas.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Oh, yes, I will for sure.
        I have a few un-known gifts for them of which they do not know I planned all along for months before.
        Anyway, none of them know my WP blog and they cannot know me here. So, I tell ya that I bought tickets for Star Wars 7. Will go to the cinema with them on the 25th – a something new that we never done before. Gladly that grandma can take care of my 2 years old boy at her home (which mean, anyway, I’ve to drive downtown to reach the cinema).

        And we are going to have a nice Christmas dinner at my friend’s restaurant which are closed only because I am coming – just me and the kids. And a little of a chit-chat with my dear friend too. She is alone and without family. She will turn the restaurant hall into a small playground for the kids too. I come over to help her tomorrow with the stuffs. She asked me if she should put a wooden horse for the kids. I had to laugh because I did asked her if she has a wooden unicorn? She didn’t understand why I laugh so much. That’s because the horse reminded me of your Unicorn blog! LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

        A wooden unicorn eh?

        That sounds like a delightful dinner in your friend’s restaurant. 🙂

        I wonder if you’ll see any of this happening while you’re at the movie:

        https://draculvanhelsing.wordpress.com/2015/12/07/nostradamus-and-the-force-awakens/

        I don’t think you read that particular blog post but if you’re going to Star Wars 7, you might enjoy it. 😀

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        It starts tonight in Germany, but we have no tickets – out of sale as predicted. But we shall go there after the New Year when all are the more quieter and not too much commotion. I am not a fan of being squeeze in the mid of the crowd! 😛

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, now that people can buy their movie tickets on-line, tickets for a certain day sell out a lot faster.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        That’s what I did and that was starting from summer. It was fully booked even then! 😛

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Oh, brother.

        Yes, The Force Awakens will certainly be a big event.

        Particularly if audiences start turning into ET grays, little green people and multi-headed reptilian monsters. 😛

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        There are many aliens outside the cinema of our village town. I drove by with my son and we paused on the roadside so that he can watched them. A few of the guys did dressed up as Darth Vader and using laser sword – my son finds this amusingly incredible. 🙂

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, some of these extreme Star Wars fans are “really far out, man” to use a hippy expression from the 1960s. 😀

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Yes. The fact that George Lucas had the magic mushrooms from me and he STONED every of his fans … hehehe …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

        And now the evil 7 Dwarves with porcelain eyes are stealing your magic mushrooms. 😛

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Star Wars 8 – The Force of Magic Mushroom – with the evil dwarfs and bad Snow White. lol

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, may the glassy marble eyes always be with you.

        Eeeek! 😛

        LOL !

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        May the STONE power always be with you! hehehe …
        eeeek! Haunting eyes … I hate haunting eyes. 😛

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Alfred Hitchcock: Good evening, ladies and gentlemen. It appears that the eyes have it.

        And the nays have followed Loki and become horse’s asses- naying all the way.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        wah hahaha …
        I just commented on that blog just now.
        😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        That’s good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

