The Christmas Tree: A Poem

December 11, 2015 at 8:21 pm (Christmas, Life, Poetry) (, )

The Christmas Tree: A Poem

This is the place where dreams come true
This is the time to say “Love you”
Those branches fair
hung with special care
angels and candy cane
socks on chimney lain
This is the night
where shines the light
that shatters winter darkness blues
to mark where angels sang Joyous news
“He is Come! He is come!”
so ‘midst fairy and sugarplum
That neverending story begun
at Bethlehem long ago
lifts us up ‘midst winter snow.

-A poem written by Christopher
Friday December 11th
2015.

39 Comments

  1. anaatcalin said,

    Beatiful, Chris! I love the magical Christmas night atmosphere with its promise of timelessness and infinity. It’s sweet and tender, soothing.

  2. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    Beautiful! Made me teary-eyed.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  3. ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

    My Christmas this year is sad … But then we all try to celebrate with full of love and joy however we can … A lot of things missing in this life … Trying to fulfill dreams unbroken so that the wounds are healed with colored memories and true promises …

    And I wish you all the love and beautiful blessings, Chris!

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      *HUGS*, Sherrie.

      I’m so sorry your Christmas will be sad.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Oh, I’ll be fine, Chris.
        Always do.
        *HUG*

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        That’s good, Sherrie.

        I felt so bad that you might have a sad Christmas this year that I wrote a dark Christmas poem on my blog tonight that I called Broken Toys.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Broken Toys is hillarious.
        But the Christmas tree blog was the sad one, but it seems more related to you in some way.

        No worry about it, my dear friend!
        I love all of your blogs.
        And I wrote a few sad blogs myself too, as you noticed or realized.
        We are writers – and we write anything to discover ourselves in it – and perhaps along the way finding cures for our broken hearts.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        You seem to know me very well, Sherrie.

        Yes, the Christmas tree poem is more related to me and is in fact the sadder one.

        Because this is what I long my Christmas to be.

        The Christmas in Broken Toys is the one I’m more likely to have – the one I’ve been having the past 5 Christmasses.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        The past 2 years was the worse for me. After Amanda was gone, nothing is the same at home. We all cried together at any celebration and now this year is even the worse … That is why I came up here to be isolated from the familiar place like my house and be up in the mountains would simply do good for both of the mind and heart. If not, then I still go to do a lot of things to find the way of healing. There is no such thing as an easy way, but it is worth it.

        I hope that you are alright over there, Chris.

        *HUG*

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, the past 2 years would have been the worst for you.

        A sad devastating time with tragedy compounded on tragedy.

        *HUG*, Sherrie.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        I will be strong as always, Chris.
        No matter how my heart might break, but then I will always be standing tall.
        I know I always manage …
        *HUG in return, Chris*

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thanks, Sherrie.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        (っ◕‿◕)っ ♥

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        🙂 ❤

  4. Nicholas C. Rossis said,

    Lovely! 🙂

  5. Hyperion said,

    It was a warm poem for chilled hearts Chris. The one we should all hope for regardless of our situation. I spent many of my Christmas days in dark places but I always did something small and insignificant that reminded me Christmas was about selfless sacrifice and in those moments, my Christmas became brighter.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks, Daniel.

      Yes, I think a world without Christmas would make this world an even darker place than it already is.

      • Hyperion said,

        Yes, I couldn’t imagine it.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        It would be like having a Christmas tree in the house with no lights and no decorations on it.

      • Hyperion said,

        And not knowing what bedeviled one to have it in the house to begin with.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        No doubt a combination of too much bourbon and too many magic mushrooms. 😀

      • Hyperion said,

        Bourbooms! It’ll grow hair on your dangling participles.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        And when this happens, don’t swim in a stream with otters because Jeffery and Jason will mistake your hairy dangling participles for something else.

      • Hyperion said,

        Yes, one must wear proper swimming apparel with otters. They chomp first and ask questions later.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        As George Costanza said when a nude Kramer was nipped, “That’s gotta hurt!”.

      • Hyperion said,

        It always leaves a mark!

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Kramer: Jerry, you gotta see this.

        Jerry: Kramer, why are you pulling your pants down?

        Elaine (walking through apartment door): Oh my God. What are you guys doing?

        Newman (behind her): Bwwwwaaaaa Hahahahaha. I always did wonder about those two.

      • Hyperion said,

        Hahahahaahah! The odd couple.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, the odd couple.

        Both Jerry and Kramer.

        And also another name for Kramer’s otter bitten hairy dangling participles.

      • Hyperion said,

        Grammar bites!

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Little did Jeffery know he has a penchant for teaching English.

        Something he can fall back on should his managing the down river otter girls pole dancing nightclub idea not pan out.

      • Hyperion said,

        Having a fallback plan when luck runs out or in Jeffery’s case, dollar bills, is always a good plan.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Indeed. 😀

  6. Egyptian Adventures.wordpress.com said,

    Beautiful conjours lovely visions.

Leave a Reply

