Maria Ho Quartet

January 3, 2016 at 8:51 pm (Arts, Culture, Life, Music, Personal essays) (, , , )

Maria Ho Quartet

Yesterday when I was out walking, I passed a sign in front of a Church building that said a free Jazz concert would be held at 4 PM today.

I haven’t been to a concert in the 3 years since I moved to Vancouver namely because I really couldn’t afford to go to one.

However- Free- the price was right- so I went.

There is just something about listening to live music that is so inherently wonderful.

I listen to music on the radio.

And I listen to the specialty cable channel Baroque Music on TV when I go to bed at night.

But it’s just not the same as listening to live music in person.

The Maria Ho Quartet was made up of one Jazz vocalist Maria Ho and 3 Jazz instrumentalists.

As a testimony to the power of live music when it’s well sung and well played, I’d have to say that listening to Miss Ho’s lovely singing voice and the Jazz instrumentals that accompanied it, I can say that it’s the happiest I’ve genuinely felt in 3 years of living in Vancouver.

In fact, I can say that it’s the happiest I felt in the 5 years since my dad died.

21 Comments

  1. Nicholas C. Rossis said,

    Yay! That’s wonderful! πŸ™‚

  2. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    Oh, Chris! I am crying…joy tears! πŸ™‚ I’m so happy you got to go to the concert and hear the jazz music! And that it made you happy! πŸ™‚
    I can’t imagine life without music! I am fortunate that we have some venues here that do free outdoor concerts of local musicians in the Spring and Summer. I love attending them.
    My post today is on music…well…okay…not jazz, but music. πŸ˜›
    NothingLikeSmoothJazz HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Yes, I never knew that live music could serve as such a powerful antidote to depression.

      I’d heard of it before in theory but didn’t see the practical application of it until I went through Hell for 5 years.

      • doesitevenmatter3 said,

        I’m sad that you went through Hell for 5 years… 😦 But, I’m glad you learned that music is powerful and can lift spirits that are down. I even get up and dance to some of my fav peppy songs! πŸ™‚
        More HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

      • doesitevenmatter3 said,

        I put up a Christmas song in response to your comment on my Christmas Music blog. Thought you’d find it funny or cool or weird or something. πŸ˜›

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        That was great, Carolyn. πŸ˜€

  3. ѕнєяяιє βˆ‚Ρ” ναℓєяια said,

    HUGS! HUGS for you, Chris!
    Be Happy!!!

  4. Hyperion said,

    That is a special gift to find, Chris. Music can reach us when nothing else can. Hope that chance presents itself more often to you. πŸ˜€

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Yes, I hope it does, Daniel. πŸ™‚

      • Hyperion said,

        Crossing my cheeks on the days of the week and hoping for good times to come! πŸ˜€

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        As twin stripe marks descend on thy bum. πŸ˜€

      • Hyperion said,

        Whackety Whack was Sherrielock’s chorus as she spanked out another top ten tune.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        A beat that produced a blood red moon. πŸ˜›

      • Hyperion said,

        I’m thinking Renfield should watch out for that. This would be the time to let Amadeus win the competition. πŸ˜€

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, there are times when one mustn’t turn the other cheek. πŸ˜€

      • Hyperion said,

        LOL! That adds new meaning to having rosy cheeks.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        It certainly does. πŸ˜€

      • Hyperion said,

        πŸ˜€

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

