Amadeus Stardust

January 14, 2016 at 8:07 pm (Arts, Culture, Entertainment, News, Obituaries, Vampire novel) (, , , , , , , , , , )

Amadeus Stardust

The New Orleans songstress and vampiress Angelique Dumont was sitting in a black evening dress in a West London theatre auditorium memorizing her lines for the role of Mina Harker in a musical version of Dracula.

She heard the theatre auditorium door open and in walked her friend Amadeus Emanon.

He looked disheveled and his hair was wild and uncombed.

“Why, Amadeus, what’s wrong?” Angelique asked him.

“David Bowie is dead,” said Amadeus, a tear dripping down his cheek.

“Why, yes,” Angelique nodded, “the whole world knows that David Bowie is dead. But… did you know him personally at all, Amadeus?”.

“No, I never met the man,” Amadeus started to weep uncontrollably.

Angelique reached into her purse and handed him a handkerchief which he accepted gratefully.

“You must have been quite a devoted fan,” Angelique patted his shoulder, “to take his death pretty hard.”

“He was one individual I could really relate to,” Amadeus wiped his eyes, “he and Oscar Wilde I could both relate to. Although of course Oscar Wilde was already dead by the time I was genetically cloned and created in Dr. Cadbury Rocher’s lab, Oscar Wilde having died way back in 1900.”

“You could really relate to both Oscar Wilde and David Bowie?” Angelique was somewhat taken aback, “Does this mean you’re gay or bisexual, Amadeus?”.

Angelique was somewhat surprised. She had dated Amadeus on numerous occasions. Although Amadeus had always been the perfect gentlemen (as opposed to the multitude of horny males who were always trying to hump her particularly one Renfield R. Renfield), she had put this down to a somewhat Peter Pan style childlike innocence about him rather than a lack of sexual attraction to females.

“No,” said Amadeus, “what I liked about Wilde and Bowie was that they always felt like outsiders, like aliens, like strangers living in a strange land. I always felt like an outsider, an alien, having been cloned and genetically created in a lab and then born wholesale as an adult emerging from a giant test tube. I was adult in body at my birth but my mind was still like a child’s, like an infant’s. Even now, I still grapple with being an adult on the outside but I still feel like a child on the inside.”

Amadeus, she knew, had been cloned and created back in late 2005. So in effect he was only 10 years old although as he had said, he had emerged out of the giant test tube in Dr. Rocher’s lab with the body of an adult.

Funny, he and Renfield were so different.

Renfield, she understood, had been genetically cloned and created back in early 2005, several months before Amadeus.

He too had emerged from the giant test tube with the body of an adult.

But she gathered that Renfield had always acted with the mind of an adult.

Perhaps it was the DNA they were cloned from.

Amadeus was cloned from the DNA of strands of hair from Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, British actor Alan Rickman and California mass murderer Charles Manson.

Renfield had been cloned from the DNA of strands of hair from Emperor Napoleon Bonaparte, French poet Charles Baudelaire and Germany’s Iron Chancellor Otto von Bismarck as well as the DNA of North Korean cannibalistic killer hamsters (who had been secretly created in a Pyongyang lab back in 2000).

The latter strands of DNA allowed Renfield to shape shift from human to hamster and back again.

“I’m sorry you feel like such an outsider, Amadeus,” she patted his shoulder again.

“It doesn’t help knowing that I’ve got someone like Charles Manson in my DNA,” Amadeus moaned, “does this mean that I’m going to someday become a murderer like Manson?”.

“Despite what the eugenicists of old and the eugenicists of today might think,” Angelique whispered to Amadeus, “DNA like clothes do not make the man.”

Amadeus stopped crying.

“So,” Amadeus asked Angelique, “who do you think will be the next David Bowie?”.

Angelique smiled at him, “David Bowie was one of a kind. There will never be another David Bowie. Just like there will never truly be another Oscar Wilde. That’s the thing about great artists. They’re truly one of a kind. No one will ever be truly like them. Great artists were and are great because they were and always are what they are.”

“So no new David Bowie?”Amadeus looked at the stage.

“The world never does know what it’s looking for,” Angelique said, “it stumbles around like a man in a fog shrouded night. Oscar Wilde burst on the world in the late 19th Century. David Bowie burst on the world in the late 20th Century. The world is only 4 years away from the decade of the 2020s. Maybe what the world needs right now is not another Oscar Wilde or another David Bowie.”

“So,” Amadeus looked down, “what does the world need right now?”.

“Well,” Angelique stood up, “maybe what the world needs right now… is… Amadeus Emanon.”

Angelique walked away leaving Amadeus in the darkness of the theatre auditorium.

A few minutes later the theatre’s lightning technician, practicing for when the play started in an hour’s time, just happened to shine the spotlight on Amadeus sitting in his seat in the darkened auditorium.

-A vampire novel chapter
written by Christopher
Tuesday January 12th
2016.

Post-Script: The great actor Alan Rickman who played Severus Snape in all 8 Harry Potter films as well as numerous other great roles in film, on stage and on radio died today Thursday January 14th 2016 at the age of 69.

I’ve always been a huge fan of Alan Rickman.
When I first introduced the character of Amadeus Emanon into my series of vampire novels back in 2006, I chose Alan Rickman as one of the persons whose DNA was involved in his cloning.

I wrote this particular chapter two days ago Tuesday January 12th (two days after the death of David Bowie),

Little did I know at the time of that writing 2 days ago that Alan Rickman (from whom part of Amadeus Emanon was cloned) would die 2 days later.

It makes the ending of this chapter a lot more poignant (and possibly prophetic).

-Christopher

25 Comments

  1. Mahevash said,

    “Even now, I still grapple with being an adult on the outside but I still feel like a child on the inside.”
    You got me. Saving this page to my ‘Special’ folder. Awesome work!

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thank you very much. πŸ™‚

      I’m always delighted when I get a new reader.

      And even more when something I’ve written has really impacted them.

      Glad some of my writing has wound up in your special folder. πŸ™‚

      • Mahevash said,

        πŸ™‚
        Funny thing is, just last night I was rewatching an episode of Supernatural that references Dracula and Van Helsing! Here’s the IMDB link if you’re interested:

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thanks for the link. πŸ™‚

        That’s quite a coincidence all right- Dracula and Van Helsing mentioned on Supernatural and then you noticed my blog.

        It reminds me years ago, my dad and I were dining in a restaurant in the Lincolnshire town of Stamford, England and the waitress asked us where we were from and we replied, “We’re Canadian.”

        And she said, “Really? I just started reading a science-fiction novel last night and the two heroes are Canadian.”

        She was so impressed that she offered to buy my dad and I a glass of wine.

        My dad said no, that wasn’t necessary.

        I was a bit more amiable to the idea at the time as I thought it might be nifty to try some Lincolnshire wine (reflecting on it some time later I realized the wine would have probably been imported as I didn’t recall seeing many grape vines growing in Lincolnshire) but my dad insisted no.

        My dad and I really came to love that Lincolnshire town of Stamford.

        It serves as the background setting for a Sherlock Holmes novel I wrote that I hope to have published very soon on Amazon Books and Kindle.

      • Mahevash said,

        You’re welcome. Are you a Supernatural fan too?
        That’s a great story…thanks for sharing!
        Coincidences like these make life less humdrum, don’t they?
        Cool…send me a link when its out there πŸ™‚

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        I’ve watched the occasional episode of Supernatural. πŸ™‚

        Yes, I’ll send you the link as soon as my book is available on Amazon. πŸ™‚

      • Mahevash said,

        Looking forward to it πŸ™‚

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thanks. πŸ™‚

      • Mahevash said,

        πŸ™‚

  2. Mahevash said,

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      That looks like an interesting episode. πŸ™‚

      btw- I like all your comments here.

      I have to tell new readers who comment on my blog posts that ever since WordPress “improved” its site a couple of years ago, there are a few blogs here where the Like button for Comments doesn’t show up on my iPhone and ironically one of those blogs is my very own.

      So in case you’re wondering why I don’t seem to have liked any comments posted on my own blog, that’s the reason.

      • Mahevash said,

        It is. You must watch it πŸ™‚
        Got it. No problem, your replies are reward enough πŸ™‚

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, I must watch that episode. πŸ™‚

        A shapeshifter who can turn into the movie monsters Dracula, The Wolfman and The Mummy would be great. πŸ™‚

        I really love those old original Universal Pictures horror films from the 1930s and ’40s.

      • Mahevash said,

        You will enjoy it…it has an interesting message as well!
        I have kind of stopped watching horror films, but if I do resume, I’ll know what to begin with πŸ™‚

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        The old Universal Pictures horror films of that time didn’t have the blood and gore of today’s horror films.

        I’ve stopped watching today’s horror films as for the most part they’re more gory than scary.

      • Mahevash said,

        Don’t know about the old films , but have to agree that today’s horror is way too gory.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, very gory indeed.

        Alfred Hitchcock managed to frighten people in his films without using excessive blood and gore.

  3. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    I love this, Christopher!
    I have tears in my eyes and a smile on my face…I can relate to Amadeus and how he feels. I’ve felt this way my whole life.
    I like Bowie so much…and I love Alan Rickman. I cried when I heard Alan died. He has brought me such joy with his acting and handsome face!

    I realized many years ago, with friends reading such deep important self-help-improve-myself books, trying to better themselves, that I wasn’t reading any of those kinds of books. I was reading novels, bios, memoirs…and it dawned on me that even tho’ I have matured in many ways through the years, I still respond to happy and sad things like little-girl-Carolyn did. I still get VERY giddy and excited when I’m happy and I still want someone to hold me when I am sad. πŸ™‚ I’m glad little-girl-Carolyn is still alive and doing pretty well with all of the bad things that have happened to her. πŸ™‚ I hope she never leaves me. πŸ™‚
    Brilliant, poignant, timely, creative write! I am honored to have read it, Chris!
    And Oscar Wilde…OMG! One of my favorite authors to read!
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thank you very much, Carolyn. πŸ™‚

      Yes, I must say I was stunned when I heard Alan Rickman died.

      He was one of my favourite actors.

      And in a sense the father of Amadeus.

      When I first created Amadeus, I wrote many chapters about him struggling to find out who he was- having been genetically created in a lab.

      That’s why I used Rickman as one of my sources for Amadeus’ DNA.

      The angst in Rickman’s face when he played the character of Severus Snape even from the earliest Potter films- showed that he as a character was undergoing an intense inner struggle.

      That’s what I was hoping to capture with Amadeus.

      Glad that this chapter impacted you, Carolyn.

      When I wrote it, I had the feeling that I was trying to say something of importance to the world.

      I wrote this on Tuesday and felt hesitant about posting it.

      Then when I heard of Rickman’s death Thursday afternoon, I decided to post it in his memory.

  4. Hyperion said,

    Profound and captivating, Chris. The comments section is as rich as the story. This is what blogging should be. I could bloviate profusely about all the things that captivate me with your writing and this story in particular. Let me just say, I can’t wait to see these stories come out for the world to peruse and enjoy. It’s a lottery and the odds are high but with proper attention to finding readers, Your work will find the light in many hearts and minds.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thank you, Daniel.

      That’s what I’m hoping for.

      That when the books come out, my blog readers will buy.

      In a recent on-line article I read on selling books through Amazon, one of the first points the article writer mentioned was starting a blog to build up a network of potential readers.

      Well fortunately I’ve done that.

      • Hyperion said,

        Yes, and there is no question that people who read the Vampire Novels will enjoy them. The only thing needed is the impulse to explore and that is achieved by presenting the opportunity.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Exactly. πŸ™‚

  5. ѕнєяяιє βˆ‚Ρ” ναℓєяια said,

    It is still sad somehow even after awhile because I think most of us grow up with his music. Be it when we were in school or in college, or at the back of the truck sleeping under the star, or on the highway driving up the lonely road, etc …

    His songs will be forever in our mind … as if he never really leave …

Leave a Reply

