Rose In The Snow: A Poem

January 24, 2016 at 8:46 pm (Life, love, Poetry, Romance) (, )

Rose In The Snow: A Poem

As I was walking through the snow so clean and so bright
It was a crisp and frosty cold winter night
and there on the snow all around
was a single red rose lying on the ground.

I stood wrapping my cloak from the chill from the air
and looked at the blood red rose petals that lay there so bare
What was this that greeted my sight?
The sad result of some lovers’ fight?

Was this the final answer flung in some one’s face?
After someone decided a vase would be out of place?
Was this love now dead like this rose in the snow?
All that answered in the night was a cold wind’s blow.

-A poem written by Christopher
Sunday January 24th 2016.

20 Comments

  1. Nicholas C. Rossis said,

    Love this. I can practically feel the cold wind on my back.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks, Nicholas. πŸ™‚

      That’s exactly the atmospheric response I was hoping to invoke in my reader.

      I sent you a reply to my email you just sent me. πŸ™‚

  2. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    Love this one, Chris! It gets my senses involved…I can feel the cold and wind against my skin. And when I see something (like a rose on the snowy ground) I always have questions and wonderings about it. πŸ™‚
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚
    PS…I wanna’ believe someone dropped it by accident and then was like, “Hmm…I only have 11 roses. Wonder where number 12 went?” πŸ™‚ Ha, I always want happily-ever-after and not sad. πŸ˜€

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Yes, I suppose that could have happened as well, Carolyn. LOL !

      The guy ended up carrying 11 roses instead of a dozen. πŸ˜€

  3. ѕнєяяιє βˆ‚Ρ” ναℓєяια said,

    The cold and the dead roses … death in winter … Sad, but brilliantly written.

  4. Mithai Mumblezz said,

    Beautiful to read you can even see it all happening in front of you.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks, Mithai. πŸ™‚

      Glad to know that I was able to accomplish what I intended with this poem- I was wanting my readers to see this scene and feel the cold in their own minds as they read every line. πŸ™‚

  5. Sara Flower Kjeldsen said,

    I enjoy the contrast of a once thriving rose in a fancy vase now lying tossed in the white snow. It gives such a melancholic mood and I love it. I do wonder why it ended up there. Lovely writing. πŸ™‚

  6. Hyperion said,

    Excellent setting of mood and scene. The contrast of a red rose in winter’s snow is sublime. Good on you friend! πŸ˜€

  7. Mahevash said,

    “Was this love now dead like this rose in the snow?
    All that answered in the night was a cold wind’s blow.”

    BLOWN AWAY!

Leave a Reply

