The Golden Cobra: A Poem

February 21, 2016 at 9:39 pm (Geopolitics and International Relations, Horror, Mystery/horror, News, The Supernatural, Vampire novel) (, , , , , , )

The Golden Cobra: A Poem

In dark caverns below the Himalayas
lurked the creature
a giant golden cobra who folded around and around the dark cavern floor
and licked its own tail
in Ouroboros fashion
A golden circle
A golden circle of life
A golden circle of death
A golden circle of life and death

The Knights of the Golden Circle worshipped the creature
The Knights of the Golden Circle who created the Confederacy
The Knights of the Golden Circle who shot Lincoln
The Knights of the Golden Circle whose most nefarious leader was one Albert Pike
The Knights of the Golden Circle who continue today

The Golden Cobra had a name… Maitreya
And the Golden Cobra emerged out of its own circle
and emerged upwards.

-A vampire novel chapter and poem
written by Christopher
Sunday February 21st
2016.

24 Comments

  1. Sabiscuit said,

    Repetition for effect, was effective. I love a good conspiracy theory and I’m familiar with the KGC one. โค

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Yes, conspiracy theories are most enjoyable. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Perhaps Jesse Ventura can look into this one. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Sabiscuit said,

        I’ll assist. So much rereading to do. The sources are scratching at my memory.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        They did a story on the KGC a couple of nights ago on the History Channel program America Unearthed.

        And since Maitreya the Golden Cobra a character who has appeared in my vampire novel a few times I’ve always pictured in his cave in the Himalayas as lying circle like in the manner of an Ouroboros style serpent, I thought to myself, “Hm, maybe these Knights of the Golden Circle got their name from worshipping Maitreya the Golden Cobra who lies in a circle.”

        When they mentioned Albert Pike on the program, I thought, “now there’s a snake like character if there ever was one- the leader of Scottish Rite Freemasonry back in the late 19th Century and one of those who encouraged Gen. Nathan Bedford Forrest to found the Ku Klux Klan.”

        So I thought to myself, maybe these Knights of the Golden Circle really worshiped a golden serpent who slept in a circle.

        So anyhow for purposes of this vampire novel, I’m making it the case. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Sabiscuit said,

        That is very interesting and I appreciate the headsup on the History Channel Program. I love a good binge watching session so that’s going in my must watch list.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, America Unearthed has a number of interesting episodes.

  2. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    Powerful poem with vivid word pics!
    Sounds like the KGC keeps busy!
    HUGS!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hyperion said,

    And you will be interested to know that memberships are booming. It seems their message once again has a nice ring to it for those that believe in the power of insular thought. Another prophetic poem.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      That’s very interesting about booming memberships for the KGC, Daniel.

      Doesn’t say much for civilization today.

      • Hyperion said,

        It appears our regression may wind us up in loin cloths and sharpened sticks at this rate.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        And when the surgeon who operated on Reagan the day of his assassination attempt sees everyone dressed in loin cloths and holding sharpened sticks and chanting in strange rhythms to the beat of savage drums will say, “Today, we’re all Bohemian Grove initiates.”

      • Hyperion said,

        And Ronald Reagan sends a thunderbolt down from heaven striking Bernie Sanders in the butt which causes him to urinate all over the Hilderbeast to which she replies, This is why I should be president, I bring out the very best of everybody. President elect Trumpster thinks the outcome of the thunderbolt has potential and he orders a lengthy and costly study to be undertaken to see if Bernie can be weaponized and turned lose on the Golden Cobras assuming the Hliderbeast was speaking of her qualification to be their president Grand Poobah of the Order of the Golden Shower. It all turns out to be big misunderstanding.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

  4. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    How are you doing today, Chris?!
    (((HUGS)))

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Trying to drum up publicity for my first novel, Carolyn.

      I’m going deeper and deeper into debt trying to find money to pay my rent each month.

      Unless someone gives me a job or my book somehow manages to sell a massive amount of copies, I don’t how much longer I can keep this up.

      I think I will end up homeless on the streets in another couple of months unless I get a break.

      • doesitevenmatter3 said,

        Please know you are in my thoughts and prayers and I always wish you well. Could you share you book in local libraries, coffee houses, restaurants, etc. ? I’ve had friends who had success doing that with their first (self-published) book.
        (((HUGS)))

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, I could try doing that.

  5. ั•ะฝั”ััฮนั” โˆ‚ั” ฮฝฮฑโ„“ั”ัฮนฮฑ said,

    This reminded me very much on Bram Stoker’s ‘The White Worm’ and that was pretty creepy story written, besides Dracula. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

