The Falcon Cannot Hear The Falconer

March 1, 2016 at 9:29 pm (Geopolitics and International Relations, Horror, International Intrigue, News, Politics, The Supernatural, Vampire novel) (, , , , , , )

The Falcon Cannot Hear The Falconer

The billionaire ancient Egyptian vampire Set walked the streets of London.

He had on a black top hat, a black cape, black pants and black boots and carried a black jackal headed walking stick.

He passed by a pawn shop which had an old television set in the window.

On the old TV, CNN’s Anderson Cooper could be seen interviewing Set’s Chief of Security and Intelligence Gathering Renfield R. Renfield who was running for U.S. President despite having been created in a test tube in a genetics lab in Britain.

Renfield told Cooper, “Donald Trump is Hitler minus the moustache.”

Meanwhile Set walked down a back alley.

That’s when he noticed a man standing there urinating in the alley outside a seedy nightclub back exit door.

Set immediately recognized the man’s spiritual aura.

His right hand clenched his jackal headed walking stick.

His left hand rose like a fist of five sharp swords.

For his fingernails were very long and razor sharp (the length of his fingernails made Freddy Kreuger’s fingernails look like he had just got back from the manicurist).

The fingernails of the left hand of Set cut and ripped through the urinating man’s neck and tore his head off.

Set then kicked the severed head of the urinating man (that continued urinating despite the loss of the man’s head) down into a nearby gutter and continued walking down the alley.

The man’s head then turned into a falcon and flew away.

It flew away and flew straight over the clock tower of Big Ben over the Thames and then rose into the sky uttering a bloodcurdling cry.

-A vampire novel chapter
written by Christopher
Tuesday March 1st
2016.

18 Comments

  1. anaatcalin said,

    A masterpiece of a snippet, as always, dear Chris. I enjoyed this one very much, especially since I started knowing the characters and caring about them. Set being the most powerful of them all exudes a special kind of fascination. I love how you described him like a supernatural Jack the Ripper wandering the foggy streets of London. The walking stick with the jackal head and the long sharp fingernails stand for power and “ancient.” One question: did Set see that the urinating man was also a supernatural creature in truth? Is that why he killed him? (Or Pan Goatee took possession of Set’s body that moment 🙂 ?

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Set saw that the urinating man was a vessel for a supernatural creature.

      What supernatural creature?

      Think back to ancient Egyptian mythology and the many conflicts in which Set was involved.

      Also note that the man’s head turned into a falcon shortly after it died.

      Taking a cue from ancient Egyptian mythology then, what supernatural creature who was an enemy of Set might take the form of a falcon in a head? 😉

      • anaatcalin said,

        I have no idea, I must admit. Egyptian history and mythology isn’t my forte 🙂

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Horus was the falcon-headed god in Egyptian mythology.

        He was the son of Osiris and Isis.

        Set was his uncle.

        Of course Set dismembered his brother Osiris and took his throne.

        So this naturally led to conflict between Set and his nephew Horus.

        In my vampire novel, I also added my own touch to the tale.

        I made it so that 3000 years ago Horus buried his uncle Set alive and Undead in a tomb in the Egyptian desert.

        3000 years later, Set’s tomb was discovered and was officially opened on November 11th 1918 at exactly 11 AM Greenwich time when the Armistice ending the First World War came into effect.

        And so just as the Great War ended, the Egyptian vampire Set was let loose upon the world- so my vampire series of novels began. 🙂

      • anaatcalin said,

        Super gripping story! This would make a great blurb for the book.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Daniel spent much of January formatting the manuscript of my first novel in my vampire novel septalogy to make it ready for publication and upload to Amazon.

        I’m currently editing his formatted copy which I’ll then email back to him to make the corrections I’ve noted.

        But maybe I’ll take your suggestion and use this as the blurb to my book.

        I’ll think I’ll make it my prologue at any rate. 🙂

  2. ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

    Horus was the first came to thought of which I was so sure with a falcon headed god. But then, I realized that Horus has the head of a hawk and not falcon.

    The falcon-headed god is actually known as Khonsu, the son of Amun and Mut. Actually, he was a moon god depicted as a man wearing a falcon-head, wearing a crescent moon headdress surmounted by the full lunar disc.

    Wondering if that is Khonsu? Or other spiritual being unknown to us all?

    The more I am curious the mystery of Set’s wrath there. Sounded very much like he is prowling the street in search of someone or something …

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Wow. The Wikipedia article had screwed up.

      I had forgotten which god in mythology had a falcon head so I googled that question.

      The first post that came up was the Wikepedia article on Horus claiming he had a falcon head.

      So that’s why I had Set killing this guy.

      The entity possessing him was Horus.

      I based it all on that Wikipedia article.

      I’ve never heard of Khonsu before.

      I’m just familiar with the major Egyptian deities- particularly those involved with the power struggle between Set and his family rivals Isis, Osiris and Horus.

      I’m writing a series of vampire novel chapters with titles based on the lines of William Butler Yeats’ poem The Second Coming.

      I’ve written Turning and Turning In The Widening Gyre.

      Now I’ve come to The Falcon Cannot Hear The Falconer.

      So I googled which god in mythology was the falcon associated with as a symbol?

      I thought it would be a Norse god whose name came up.

      Just as the raven was Odin’s symbol, I thought the falcon was another Norse god’s symbol.

      But the first name that came up was that of Horus.

      So that’s why I decided to make this chapter about Set murdering some guy possessed by the spirit of Horus.

      I originally thought I’d be writing a chapter about an ancient Norse vampire.

      But stupid Wikipedia!

      They’re certainly no Encyclopedia Britannica.

      I remember back in 2006, I had written a vampire novel chapter at Journalspace where I mentioned that the Aztec vampire princess Qonzilqointec had turned Leon Trotsky into a vampire in Mexico City just before he supposedly died.

      I said today this vampire is now Lev Tomi the Secretary-General of The UN Secretariat On The Environment and Climate Change.

      Then I remember reading a Wikipedia article on Leon Trotsky in 2007.

      At the end of the article, it actually said, “Contrary to popular belief, Leon Trotsky did not die as the result of an assassination attempt by an ice pick. Prior to succumbing to his wounds, Trotsky was turned into a vampire by the Aztec vampire princess Qonzilqointec. He changed his name to Lev Tomi and today heads the UN Secretariat On The Environment and Climate Change.”

      LOL !

      A Wikipedia contributor had actually used my vampire novel to insert a startling new revelation into the life of Leon Trotsky.

      LOL ! Never thought my vampire novel would make it into a Wikepedia article and on Leon Trotsky of all people. 😀

      In reading up on medieval falconers, I noticed they did work with both falcons and hawks.

      So in a sense, I’m still following the lines of Yeats’ poem.

      About a bird not hearing the falconer.

      It’s just thanks to Wikipedia now, I don’t know for what reason Set killed a guy whose head turned into a falcon.

      If it was a hawk, it would have been Set’s enemy Horus.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        hehehehe …
        That is what I thought of at first place.
        All I think was, okay, it must be Horus.
        But because I am doing my blog on ‘The Shadow People’ that I had those Infos in my research books.

        I too, have to admit that I never heard of Khonsu. There are many gods I never heard of as well. But it is interesting to learn anything new, isn’t it?

        Yeah, stupid Wiki! You should tell that to Benedict Cumberbatch! Eh no! Mistake! LOL

        You need to tell that to Asange!
        ⊂•⊃_⊂•⊃

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, I’ll tell that to Benedict Cumberbatch and Julian Assange.

        LOL !

        I’ll check out information on Horus in some of my dad’s History books that I managed to get out of my dad’s house prior to my sister’s hired thugs throwing everything out.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        (✿◠‿◠)
        I’ve loads of the Egyptian books at home, but never really it, somehow. I bought those so many years ago when I was in college and seems to collect ’em all.

        I really love the old Egyptian culture and on their legendary gods & goddesses. One of the most unique culture and one of the most ancient just as the Greeks & Roman’s gods.

        The questions is – where are they now? …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        I’ve been reading through my dad’s books on the subject.

        Apparently whether Horus was falcon-headed or hawk headed all depended on which hieroglyphs were being used in which district of Egypt.

        Horus was often depicted as a falcon and in other places depicted with the head of a hawk.

        Even Khonsu (that you mentioned as being falcon headed) was depicted in many districts of Egypt as having the head of a hawk.

        So it all depended on which district of Egypt you were living in and what particular hieroglyphic image was being used.

        This delightful conversation I’ve been having with you on this subject has inspired me to write a long vampire novel chapter on this very subject.

        I started writing it about 2 nights ago and am about half-way finished.

        It’s called Set Sees An Optomotrist and it’s turning out to be an absolutely hilariously funny chapter. 😀

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Let me tell you my theory … All of it are totally wrong and bullshit. You know why?

        Because long time ago in Egypt, those people got really cataracts problem because of the burning sun. So, because of their optical problem with their eyes, they couldn’t see well enough what is the differences between a hawk and a falcon.

        They did the wrong depictions of their gods later after that because those artist always work in the strong sunlight and then in the dark tombs.

        No wonder they carved the gods wrong. But after realizing their fatal mistake, they just put a lunar on Khonsu head to make him recognizable!

        How’s that for historical knowledge? I’m good, right? Just tell me I’m right, Chris! LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        That’s a very plausible sounding theory.

        And I always say “You’re right!” to a woman holding a whip. 😀

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        hehehehe …
        Actually, it was my father’s opinion – all the time. When he heard the conversation on religions or histories of the world, he would always interrupt.

        He said this, “How do you know at all if it is true or not? What if it is just a ancient prank, to make a fool of all of us in the future? I think, I would do prank too, if I am the king or god, to make sure no one knows of my godly secret! Definitely.”

        wah hahaha … My father is so funny!

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        LOL Yeah … my dad …
        (*≧ω≦*)

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        A great humourist.

Leave a Reply

