The Shy Stegosaurus of Cricket Creek: A Poem

March 31, 2016 at 7:45 pm (Book Reviews, books, Children's Story, Poetry) (, , , , , )

The Shy Stegosaurus of Cricket Creek: A Poem

When I was a boy, there was a book that I thought was rather neat
It was The Shy Stegosaurus of Cricket Creek
George was the introverted dinosaur’s name
A great prehistoric fella not seeking fame
He wrecked a small passenger airplane on the ground
mistaking it for pterodactyl- a hypothesis unsound
He met 2 kids and had exciting adventures
He never ran into a T-Rex’s Polygrip dentures
And finally one day he said good-bye
The two children started to cry
And deep into the canyon and off into the sunset he went
Prehistory had met modern in a time well spent.

-A poem written by Christopher
Thursday March 31st
2016.

10 Comments

  1. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    I love this one! What a great poem, Chris! And what a great memory of that book! πŸ™‚
    I love dinosaurs, and George sound like a sweet guy! πŸ™‚
    When I taught Kindergarten I always had at least one dino-expert in my classroom each year. One year it was a little boy named Jesse. He loved that I always consulted him on how to pronounce the dinosaur names, facts about them, etc., before I talked about them in class. πŸ™‚
    HUGS!!! Happy Friday!!! πŸ™‚

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      You had a dino-expert in your kindergarten class each year eh?

      I’d have probably been the dino-expert in my kindergarten class. LOL !

      I loved dinosaurs as a kid. πŸ™‚

  2. ѕнєяяιє βˆ‚Ρ” ναℓєяια said,

    Awww … sad ending. It sounded very much like that sweet dinosaur Pixar animation film we saw not long ago with the kids. We cried when we watched it and it is so, so beautiful.

  3. Hyperion said,

    A nice touch of nostalgia that we all can relate to. I don’t know why, but dinosaurs are always cool when we’re young.

  4. anaatcalin said,

    What a positive and sweet poem, dear Chris. I haven’t read that book, but I do remember some wonderful stories I used to love, and they evoke the same sweet feeling as your poem about the dinosaur George. You’re a master at writing, so good :*

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks very much, Ana. πŸ™‚

      Yes, The Giant Stegosaurus of Cricket Creek was my favourite children’s book back when I was in Grade 3.

      I remember the first model of a dinosaur that my dad ever bought me was a Stegosaurus so when I first saw that book The Shy Stegosaurus of Cricket Creek and discovered the dinosaur’s name was George (my dad’s first name) -I immediately bought it.

Leave a Reply

