Lizards and Wizards: A Poem

April 15, 2016 at 7:08 pm (Horror, Mystery/horror, Poetry, The Supernatural, Vampire novel) (, , , , , )

Lizards and Wizards: A Poem

It was a land where giant tulip bulbs grew
that grew in soil blood drenched through and through
The bulbs blood red in colour
like the soil that bled the Earth-Mother
And eating the bulbs were huge flamingoes
not pink like on your lawn goes
but blood red like the seed of human sacrifice
when all other oblations no longer suffice

And rising rising from the blood soaked ground
in a huge puff of red tinged smoke that twirled round and round
arose a wild-haired wild eyed looking wizard
who in a test tube carried a small red lizard
He lifted up high his feathered wand
in the clouds emerged a land beyond
With his left hand he lifted high his trusted wand
and with his right, emptied the test tube like a martini shaker for Bond
The lizard then fell to the earth beneath
an infernal inheritance to bequeath
The lizard grew into a huge red dragon
one possibly stolen from Hades’ wagon
The dragon then sprouted wings
like Pegasus at Pierian Springs
And flew into the land that lay beyond the clouds
A land soon to be covered by death’s dark shrouds.

-A poem and vampire novel chapter
written by Christopher
Thursday April 14th 2016.

85 Comments

  1. ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

    Sounded very much like a demon dragon.
    And RED!
    I should go and find that dragon and whip its booty! LOL

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Yes, a red dragon like in Revelation Chapter 13.

      Yes, you’ll have to whip its booty, Sherrie and teach it a lesson.

      LOL !

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        I’ll make it my pet.
        You know, my kids play that Pc Game called ‘The Sims’ where they can built houses and cities, and going shopping and dress up, etc. Now, there is a magic town where one can buy a dragon and it always burn down the houses! LOL
        And my kids would say, “I want a dragon for next Christmas!”

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

        They want to see a bunch of houses burnt down eh?

        You need a pretty powerful mouthwash to put out the dragon’s fire. 😛

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Yeah. Especially that one witch who lives at the end of the street who ruined my life! For sure. Then we celebrate with chocolate cupcakes, Oreo biscuits & with hot milk! LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, good-bye to that wicked witch.

        We’ll get Renfield to sabotage her broomstick so it will crash as she tries to flee the burning house.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        And get Pan Goatee to slash her head off! She is one ugly witch.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        That’s an excellent idea.

        Burnt, crashed and beheaded.

        The ideal fate for an ugly evil witch.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        I think we crash first and get her house burn. And then the whipping.
        The last one is the beheading.
        But what should we do if she is still alive even after the beheading?
        She does look like a fake Medusa.
        Ugh! Her hair is just like Medusa, I tell ya. No joke! All those waves and curls … Suspicious look …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Wow, that’s interesting that a woman so horrible in her personality as you described her also looks as ugly as Medusa when she had snakes in her hair.

        Maybe she really is a witch.

        Is she the one that had a Baphomet on her door that attracted the Jevovah’s Witnesses and frightened the Mormons?

        If she did, that’s proof positive that she’s a witch (either that or a Jehovah’s Witness! LOL ! ).

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Actually, Chris. He is not ugly as I write it there. She is actually the beautiful Jezebel – a whore of Babylon, I think. She is one of the type who can put man down on his knees. I’ve seen her doing that for all the years I know her and quite a seductress. I think Renfield might go for her and she covered everything with charms and she can cook as well. And a good house wife who does all things almost perfect … Of which men can dream of having a lady like that at home who cares for them and cook for them, and she will do anything and everything for them … but in return those men must give back something for her as well … Or she will show her demonic witch face! I know that someone had that terrible experiences with her … Hah! That particular guy deserves it, anyway …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        A real Jezebel eh?

        I encountered some information on Jezebel earlier tonight while I was doing some research for the vampire novel chapter I’m currently writing on Solomon and the Temple of Baal.

        That’s interesting the information I came across about Jezebel was much as you described this witch neighbour of yours.

        Beautiful on the outside but thoroughly demonic on the inside.

        And men will soil their souls by getting in contact with her.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Jezebel was a witch with the hairy legs. I remembered I read a book on her not long ago when Solomon purposely asked his men to make a mirror like floor so that he can see her hairy legs. That was odd, really.
        And Solomon even commanded his demons to get rid of those hairs on her legs. The thing is, he knew it that she is a witch of some kind and some says she is a demoness herself … who knows … a woman with so much power and despite her hairy legs, she can throw men down on their knees …

        Oh, I just realized I speak on Beersheba. She was the one with the hairy legs. One of a kind too.

        And this with Jezebel is the one that tricked the good hearted brave Samson to tell her the secrets of his hair. Imagine that? What a cunning woman!

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, it was Delilah who tricked Samson.

        Jezebel was the Phoenician woman from Sidon who was married to King Ahab of Israel.

        She was the Queen of Israel who built groves to Baal and Ashtoreth all over Israel.

        She was the Queen whose priests of Baal the Prophet Elijah confronted.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Those men killed Queen Jezebel by just throwing her out the windows. What a shame way to die. Why don’t they just do trial on her? That would be fair enough for all to see. But out the windows??? That is old classic way to kill someone! LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, one would think they had watched too many Alfred Hitchcock movies throwing her out the window like that. 😀

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Alfred Hitchcock is one of the weirdest´.
        Today, they did all of those with computer programming and making distorted images of any ghost or demons to make it dramatic. I like the classic movies better because they did play much with your mind … Eerie … Uuuuu … LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, Alfred Hitchcock was able to scare people and make them jump out of their seats without the use of computer generated digital special effects.

        Truly a master film maker. 🙂

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        You know, when the first time I watch Alfred Hitchcock, I did get scared. It was so classic. And then when I watched Pyscho, that did freaks me out and I cringed! LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, a friend of mine told me that ever since he saw the shower scene in the movie Psycho, he’s been afraid to murder a woman in the shower ever since. 😛

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        And ever since I saw that scene with the shower, I build directly a shower room. Never use the curtain! LOL
        (ᗒᗣᗕ)՞

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        I did joked on shower room to my friends and they asked me why the shower room? So that no one can stab you easily if you are using the curtain?

        I said no. It is because I can show middle finger to the person before he stab! LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL ! at showing Anthony Perkins in drag the middle finger before he stabs you. 😀

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        LOL Or show your butt while saying, “Na na na! You can’t stab me! I am here inside and you are outside. Na na na! Here my butt, asshole!” LOL And with middle finger attacking scene happening.

        Anthony Perkins has to tear his hair out after being making joke of by naked women in the shower room! He got landed in asylum on the same day – locked away for good! LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, Anthony Perkins is in the asylum naked and bald.

        And no money to buy himself some red spider monkey fur toupees at either end.

        LOL !

  2. Hyperion said,

    Very powerful intonations of doom. I think the red Dragon is the Pope and the land in the clouds is the Vatican. Since Pope Francis delivered Isis to the Vatican, it’s only a matter of time. The Swiss guards are going to have their hands full. Thi is just what popped in my head. I’m not anti-pope or anything but your poem brought a vision to my third eye, or was that just a wart on the back of my head? Who knows. My head elves are in charge, not me. 😀

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      It will be interesting to see whether your psychic vision comes true, my friend. 🙂

      Michelangelo will have some competition. 😀

      • Hyperion said,

        LOL! The first time I blow up my study from over stimulation of the psychic nerve, I’ll know Michelangelo and I are the soothsayers of the future. Or, it could be gas. I may need to cut back on the beans a little. 😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        It’s generally visions of Sherrielock Holmes that gets Michelangelo a little overheated like a cooked lobster.

        I guess if you thought of Sherrielock Holmes, that might do it to your study.

        Either that or a smack on the head if Tiger Mom suddenly turns psychic and is able to read your thoughts. 😀

      • Hyperion said,

        I think either way my lobster gets cooked, LOL! 😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        ROTFL !

    • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

      That is simply crazy vision you had there. Some people has thought that his coming is the sign of the coming of anti-Christ is nearing. One scary theory though … but who knows, really … Ugh!

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, that was an interesting vision Daniel had there.

        This poem was actually inspired by the figures I saw emerging on the steamed windows of the swimming pool room.

        Usually when I swim, I swim alone and I don’t splash much.

        But there were a couple of over zealous swimmers in the pool with me earlier this week.

        And they splashed a lot.

        And the drops of water hitting the steamed window started to form images.

        And the first images that formed were these giant flamingoes.

        Then after they splashed again, these giant tulip bulbs started growing above the heads of the giant flamingoes.

        Then they splashed a third time and this image of a wizard who looked a lot like Harry Potter formed- only the image was like that of an insane looking Harry Potter (one possibly possessed by the spirit of Voldemort).

        I was thinking to myself at the time, “Gee, what sort of person sees these images being formed in a steamy window after people splash in the swimming pool?”.

        Well, I’m the sort of person obviously but you have my assurance I don’t do drugs.

        I guess it’s like what you said when you were observing things along with your family.

        Where others saw a horse, you saw a Unicorn etc.

        Being artists and writers, we can see things other people can’t see.

        As for the lizard in the test tube who turned into a red dragon who flew away to a land beyond the clouds, that was just my own imagination at work while I was writing this poem.

        I didn’t see that forming on the steamy window of the swimming pool room.

        LOL !

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Simply terrific your experience there, Chris. Well, you are not the only one had had that sort of prophetic vision in the open while your are awake … I know I had a few lately as well. But not with steaming windows or so …

        It was repeated numbers of which I cannot understand what and I wish I know means something. And then there was this odd plane circle the sky a year ago just above the town village with a symbol of a pentagram … ain’t that a little creepy, don’t you think?

        I believe that if God sends us His signals, it is always shown in many shapes and forms, and also in people around you …

        I know I had mine and I am starting to make a new fresh start for me now. Not an easy one, but I’ll manage it somehow … for sure.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Do you remember what those numbers were, Sherrie?

        Wow, that really is creepy about the plane flying above the town with the symbol of the pentagram. 😮

        I’m sure, Sherrie, you will manage with the fresh new start that you’re making in your life. 🙂

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Of course I do.
        There are many different numbers but keep repeating itself on my handphone and even some car plates of any car in front of you, or even some numbers on TV and even on some levels of games I played on pc … Really odd.

        Those are like 1111, or 1110, or 2222, or 0606, etc … it is from the range of 1 to 9, all over again but keep repeating itself like everyday now … It creeps me out but I know I did not make it out or visioning this alone because my ten years old daughter saw this too. All the time. She keep asking me what it means and if angels wants to tell me something …

        Something is coming up soon, I guess. Not sure what. But it is not particularly negative. I felt something very positive coming up.

        I had a dream once a few years ago and I know it connected to this dream as well. In that dream I was to be with my whole family and I am the leader of my own pack, but my husband is not there. In that dream I was the leader, the boss, the powerful one … Sure mean something, right?

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, it must mean something.

        1111.

        That’s a number that I come across often too.

        Yes, that’s quite the interesting dream you had there.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        And that is not the only odd dream I had. Not sure if I did tell you that once I dreamed I was a princess or a powerful queen of Egpyt who commanded and walked upon the back of crocodiles while they brought me down the river. It was a very strange dream and yet I remembered every detail of it. I was after a very evil wizard and I had that man killed with my power. That was a good dream, actually … My friend told me it means something and one of them asked me if I ever felt so connected to the Egpytian stuff. I said, yes …

        Then she said, “Reincarnation. Like Buddha.” Not sure what she means. But that of what she said means a lot to me, really …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, in my research on Solomon, I discovered he was married to a daughter of Pharaoh which I found interesting.

        So you dreamed you were an Egyptian queen or princess who was walking down the backs of crocodiles and you killed an evil wizard.

        That was a cool dream to have. 🙂

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Indeed it was. I felt connected one with this dream as if I have seen something of the past of which I cannot really explain what or why … But I have really strong feelings towards it … Strange, yes …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, that is an interesting dream.

        Lots of meaning and symbolism to it.

        Crocodiles could be metaphors for lots of sinister looking reptilian creatures- even those in human form of which sadly there are too many in this world.

      • Hyperion said,

        The world is ripe for the anti-christ and our presidential candidates and the incumbent will welcome the Red Dragon with a feast of blood from the innocent and the crunchy bones of the wise.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        This is the year where the blood of innocence has been took … it is simply evil and loads evil happening …

      • Hyperion said,

        I suspect the Three Blogoteers have formed the alliance of Oracles. We shall prophesy in rhyme and prose that which humankind shall inherit. But first a mushroom bun and coffee then on to the next vision. 😉

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Indeed with mushroom buns, we shall have many great visions.

        With tomatoed buns, we shall have a little trouble sitting down for awhile. 😛

      • Hyperion said,

        Well…most good prophets prophesy their prophecy while standing up. I think we may know why. 😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, that’s true.

        Prophets usually always delivered their prophecies while standing up.

        Now we know the reason. 😀

      • Hyperion said,

        They were tomatoed 😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Stoned by fumeous gases and then tomatoed.

      • Hyperion said,

        Oh, the mushroom fumes and the tomatoed cornice fascia. 😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        … A Prophet’s lot was not a happy one…

      • Hyperion said,

        Poor John the Baptist would attest to that.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, I’ve heard of people losing their head over a piece of tail but that’s the first time someone lost their head over someone else’s piece of tail (i.e. Herod Antipas’ lust for Herodias and then Herod’s desire being aroused by his dancing stepdaughter Salome).

      • Hyperion said,

        They were so misbehaved in the old days. It’s no wonder we’re still flaky at present. Look at the gene pool we had to draw from.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, and now Donald Trump’s red spider monkey fur toupee dandruff flakes will be added to the mix. 😀

      • Hyperion said,

        It will be known in history as the decade of the Red Spider Monkey Dandruff. Flakiness will become the norm and the old norm will be persecuted to extinction.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        And nobody will be able to escape because Donald Trump has built a wall. 😀

      • Hyperion said,

        We never thought about it keeping us in. That’s how he trapped us.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Trump would have made a great snake oil salesman in the Old West.

      • Hyperion said,

        I think he sold a lot of it in New York 😉

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, for billions and billions (Carl Sagan like voice here) of dollars.

      • Hyperion said,

        Yep, and being a good snake oil salesman and skilled at fleecing the public out of billions and billions of dollars instantly qualified him to be the top politician.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yep, it did. 😀

      • Hyperion said,

        My Dragon oracle visionary powers see a whackity whackity Whack WHACK in the red spider monkey haired man’s future. 😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        We are the Trinity Oracles.
        I like those Greeks Oracles – very powerful visions they received.
        Really much frightening to see something of the future of which one cannot control. 😛

      • Hyperion said,

        Yes, the oracle only sees while it is up to others to act according to the vision and influence their fate. I could see red spider monkey hair flying all over the room as I type this. 😀

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        And if it happens that you see a flying mushroom UFO, you know that it is me coming. In Mushroom spaceship – and I got a lobster tank inside as well. With weapons of whips of all kinds. It is a vision you’ll see when I’m coming at your place! LOL

      • Hyperion said,

        LOL! I hope I’ve been good and there won’t be any need to correct my behavior with one of whips. 😅. When I aggravated my grandmother too much she made me go out side and pick a limb from the yellow jasmine bush and take off the leaves and ensure proper length for good switching action on my repenting behind. I had plenty of time to reflect on my sins during this time and was very regretful by the time I delivered the switch. ☺️. It didn’t help. She wore my narrow butt out with that switch. 😫

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        My father did hit me once really bad. That was not his attention and it hurts himself badly after he did it. But that was terrible. I came home late from a party and I was just a few minutes left. My father told me to come home on time and never one minute longer.

        He feared a lot for me and that sort of love can be disastrous, I guess. My father simply really hit my back with either his belt or hanger at that time. He didn’t realized what was in his hand. And I got bruises on my back.

        That night he came to see me with a medicine in his hand and he starts to tend the wounds. He cried while doing it as he realized how much bruises I got on my back. When he cried, I cried … A horrible feeling of lost and guilt for the both of us. After that incident, he never hit me again.

        The next day he speaks of it to me that sometimes love can make one fear of something and fear be murderous. One has to be really careful while handling the matter of love … He was right …

        But I forgive him, of course. It was not his fault. That night we both had learned of something new and until today that lesson stays with me …

        Ouch … your grandmother is quite a strick woman, isn’t she? I hope you don’t have bruises on you?

      • Hyperion said,

        I’m glad your father was man enough to see what his fury did to himself and you. Often that Hurt can never be mended. But, it shows yours and his strength of character and love to find forgiveness and to learn from it. I loved my grandmother dearly and I believed that I had earned every switching I got. She never did it to actually cause me pain but to make me think about my behavior. Honestly, it hurt her more than it ever hurt me but she felt I needed the discipline so she did her duty to teach it to me. When I was older and she was still alive, we laughed about the crazy things I did as a child that got me in trouble. I was a risk taker and the rewards were great and the punishment greater. 😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        The Pythian Prophetess at Delphi inhaling underground gases from the Earth to get visions.

        Either that or the gases emitting from Trump’s red spider monkey toupee hairy backside.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Or somebody farting really deadly gas after eating a whole pot of onions and garlics! Very intoxicating! LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Well actually “Intoxicating” is the last word that comes to my mind when thinking of such a phenomenon.

        But whatever floats your boat, Sherrie. LOL !

        Perhaps that’s what you eat prior to going into the bathtub to keep your toy boat with its little rubber ducky on it afloat. 😛

        And your children whisper to one another, “Don’t go in there. Mommy is keeping her boat afloat in the bath tub after having eaten you know what.”

        Later they have to send Michelangelo the Psychic Lobster in there wearing a radioactive proof nuclear protection suit and gas mask to fumigate the room prior to their entering so it will be safe when they text message their Donald Trump golden poop icons to you from in there.

        LOL !

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        wah hahahaha … I like that line …”Don’t go in there. Mommy is keeping her boat afloat in the bath tub after having eaten you know what.” LOL

        That remind me very much on Harry Potter where everyone always said on Voldermort by saying …”You know who.” hahaha …

        Donald need a very special metal tank toilet for his poop. Because his poop are of gold – that would have make a gigantic hole in our normal toilet seat and everything burst! LOL

        He even create a new business of gold using his golden poop for making jewellery. And I bet he made those jewels for his wife and promote it even! LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

        Yes, You Know Who torturing Harry Potter by eating You Know What and breaking wind in the Hogwart’s locker room. 😀

        ROTFL ! at Donald Trump using his golden poop to make jewelry.

        Yes, all of Donald’s wife’s jewelry made from the Donald’s golden poop. 😀

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Donald can use anything he sees with an idea to make money out of it. He has nothing in his mind but towers of money. If he can, he would love to have money on his plate to eat! LOL

        Poor Harry!
        Well, of course we know Who torturing Harry by eating You Know What. Just that You What by Who and You Know Who is What! LOL … Eh, not sure What I know and You Know Who???? Ok! I do really need my coffee again, now … hehehe …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes and Abbott and Costello would add “Who’s on first?” and “what’s on second?” and “I don’t know’s on third.”

        All right.

        Coffee time!

        LOL !

  3. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    Powerful vivid word pictures in this one, Chris! But, even more powerful is the message!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  4. Nicholas C. Rossis said,

    Very evocative indeed. I have to watch some steamed windows myself…

Leave a Reply

