An Urgent Appeal To My Readers

May 9, 2016 at 5:38 pm (Commentary, Culture, Life, Personal essays) (, , , , , )

An Urgent Message To My Readers

For those of you who enjoy reading my blog- my vampire novel chapters, my poems, my short stories and my personal essays, I have an urgent message for you.

Help keep this website on the air- or- on the Net as it were.

Regular readers of my blog know that I’ve been diligently searching for a job for the past 16 months and still have not been hired.

Last month, I set up a Go Fund Me page to help me with the desperate financial straits I’m in.

I published my first novel- a Sherlock Holmes fan fiction- The Giant Rat of Sumatra back in January but sales of that particular book have been slow.

I published my 2nd book- the first in my series of 7 vampire novels- entitled The Vampiress With Amnesia earlier this month.

Hopefully sales of that book will take off.

But now here’s the crux of the matter- in order to have enough money to pay for food, electricity and my rent- I haven’t paid the bills for my Internet, my mobile phone and my land line phone for the past 3 months.

I now owe roughly $600 Canadian in total for these services for the past 3 months.

Unless I pay them as soon as possible, these services will be cut off.

If that happens, this will drastically affect my ability to get a job.

Because if I do not have a phone, employers will have no way of getting in touch with me if they do want to hire me.

And for people who enjoy reading my blog, I will not be able to post because then I’ll have no Internet access.

Public computer terminals at public libraries in Vancouver are extremely busy plus I spend most of my days searching for a job and in time in between, I can research (since most of my vampire novel chapters have a lot of historical background and current events in them) on my smart phone and then write my blog posts on my smart phone.

And then email what I have written to myself and then when I get home- I can cut and paste from my email and format what I have written on my laptop at home and then post to my WordPress blog.

That will all be gone if I cannot access my smart phone and my home’s laptop computer.

Plus no way of potential employers contacting me if I have no phones.

When my mobile needs recharging, I can still be called and also call out myself on my land line.

Therefore I ask my friends and readers to please consider donating money to my Go Fund Me page or buy one of my books- either in Paperback or on Kindle.

Here’s the link to my Go Fund Me page:

https://www.gofundme.com/2s99rkmc

As I’ve said before, I know in these tough economic times, many people cannot afford to donate a great deal of money.

However even if they could afford to only donate $5 or $10 at one time, if enough people did that, every little bit would help.

Or if you haven’t done so already, please buy one of my books- either in Paperback or on Kindle.

Or if you have already done so, then please consider buying one of my books as a gift for a friend or family member – either in Paperback or on Kindle.

Here’s my Sherlock Holmes novel The Giant Rat of Sumatra in Paperback:

https://www.createspace.com/6025724

Here’s my Sherlock Holmes novel The Giant Rat of Sumatra on Kindle:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01B1W526W

Here’s my vampire novel The Vampiress With Amnesia in Paperback:

https://www.createspace.com/6248846

Here’s my vampire novel The Vampiress With Amnesia on Kindle:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01F18B5LS

Some of my friends outside North America have said that the above links sometimes don’t work for them in countries in Europe and Asia.

If that’s the case, go to Amazon on-line and click on their Books department and then type in the Amazon Books search engine either

The Giant Rat of Sumatra by Christopher Milner

-or-

The Vampiress With Amnesia by Christopher Milner

-depending upon which book you want to buy-

-and then the Amazon search engine will take you right to it.

So hopefully this appeal of mine won’t go unheeded and I’ll get at least $600 Canadian to pay the 3 back months owing on my mobile phone, Internet and land line phone bills so that my service won’t be cut off.

So if you enjoy reading my blog, friends, then please consider donating to my Go Fund Me page or buy one of my books- either in Paperback or on Kindle.

And help keep this blog- on the Net!

-A personal appeal
written by Christopher
Monday May 9th 2016

31 Comments

  1. Nicholas C. Rossis said,

    Bought the latest book and donated. This is a terrible situation; I hope it’s resolved soon 😦

  2. Hyperion said,

    I do hope you find a way out of this jam. A decent job and a few months to catch up are all you need. That’s the miracle. I’m going to go out on a limb and say you’ll do something next week that turns it all around. That’s the Dragon Master’s prophecy. Now, you just have to go out and make the prophecy come true. You’ll know it when t happens. 😀 $$$$$$$

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      I hope that turns out to be true, Daniel.

      I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

      • Hyperion said,

        Self fulfilling prophecy my Blogoteer friend. Don’t forget to be standing there when it happens. 😀 (Faith)

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        In other words, don’t be down at the bus or train station when my ship finally comes in.

      • Hyperion said,

        Yes, that would be unfortunate. You should be standing at the precise spot where your ship comes in. Otherwise, somone else could be standng there and mistake your ship for their ship and make off with all of your good fortune. Happens all the time.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        It does indeed.

  3. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    I hope and pray things get better for you VERY soon, Chris!
    (((HUGS)))

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks very much, Carolyn.

      • doesitevenmatter3 said,

        I feel bad. I wish I could do something. Right now I am still paying off my cancer surgery, etc., bills and Cooper’s surgery bills. 😦
        (((HUGS)))

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        i know, Carolyn.

        One area where I agree with Bernie Sanders is a national public health insurance program in the U.S.

        It works in Canada.

        The only time it didn’t work briefly was in the 1990s when an asshole called Ralph Klein was Premier of Alberta.

        It didn’t work in Alberta then.

        But was eventually restored under one of his successors Alison Redford.

        Now it currently doesn’t work in British Columbia under an airhead called Kristy Clark who’s basically Ralph Klein in drag.

        That’s why I never sought medical help here.

        Because you basically have to pay for it out of your own pocket..

        I wish I was living in Alberta or Saskatchewan because I do really think I need to seek medical help for my severe depression and I can’t do that living here.

  4. ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

    Dear Chris … bought the new book, Chris! I’ll blog this on my Facebook side as well. Thumbs up, my friend! Wish you all the best and luck on all.
    🙂

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thank you so much for buying the book, Sherrie, my dear friend. 🙂

      And for sharing this post on your Facebook. 🙂

      I appreciate that very much. ❤

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        You are so welcome, Chris!
        I’ll read this and of course, I will write a preview on it sooner.
        My pleasure to help however I can, my friend!

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thank you again, Sherrie, for all your support, advice and prayers. ❤

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Awww … I don’t do much, Chris … If only I am that rich, I would have been able to help you, you know …
        ❤ʕ•̫͡•ʔ

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        There aren’t too many rich people in the world.

        And those who are, some have Hell toupee. LOL !

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Maybe Trumpy boy should donated some of his hell toupee – it will make even Leprechaun blushed with shame! LOL
        (⁀ᗢ⁀)

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, most leprechauns wouldn’t be caught dead wearing a Hell toupee.

        The only leprechaun who was caught wearing one was in fact found dead- he had been strangled by a red spider monkey who had mistaken his hair for an apparition of his late mother-in-law returned from the dead.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        The red spider monkey saw green alert! They hate green things. Mistaken Lep for sort of too healthy clover veges! LOL

  5. Mahevash said,

    Just opened your GoFundMe page…very noble of you to keep your promise. Sharing it with all my contacts. Hope things get better soon.

    Oh and have you considered freelancing? That might help a bit.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks, Mahevash.

      I have sent my résumé to various newspapers in Vancouver.

      I hope to hear back from them. 🙂

      • Mahevash said,

        All the best! But what I meant to say was, why not give a shot to freelancing? Maybe you could forward me your resume? I will ask around and let you know if anyone needs a freelancer 🙂

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Okay, I’ll forward you my résumé now. 🙂

  6. Natasha Pea said,

    Oh wow I just saw this! I bought The Vampiress with Amnesia in paperback just now.

Leave a Reply

