I Won’t Be Updating My Blog For Awhile

June 8, 2016 at 11:09 am (Life) (, , , )

I Won’t Be Updating My Blog For Awhile
Well just when one thinks one is getting back on one’s feet, someone comes and kicks you.
I finally landed a job yesterday after 18 months of looking and then what happens today?

My cable company cancels my Internet and phone service because I haven’t paid them in 5 months.
Of course the reason I haven’t paid them in 5 months was because I had no money in my bank account to pay them. I needed to pay for rent and food first.
It will take a while for me to earn enough money to pay my bill to get my Internet and phone service back.
So I won’t be posting any more entries here for a while because I no longer have Internet.
I’m using a public library terminal to write this my final post.
But since I’ll be starting a job next week, I won’t have time to rush to the public library to update my blog.
Nor am I one of these people who does personal stuff on their computer at work.

I don’t believe in stealing time from one’s employers.
Nor will I use my coffee breaks and lunch time to post.
Outside my office is a park with a beautiful view of the water and old paddle river boats.

So I’ll be spending time out there and not on my computer.
I could use time in my apartment at night to update but as I say, I no longer have a phone and Internet.
I probably won’t be caught up financially speaking until next November or December.
So I’ll probably not be seeing you again my dear readers until next November or December.
Please accept my apologies for not replying to any comments you might post here over the next few months.
Here’s the link to my author page on Amazon where you may go to buy Kindle and paperback editions of my books:
http://www.amazon.com/Christopher-Milner/e/B01EUR8ILG/
Here’s the link to my GoFund me page where you can donate money to help out any way you can with my financial predicament:
https://www.gofundme.com/2s99rkmc

So until next November or December my friends, au revoir, auf wiedersen, sayonara, until we meet again.
-Christopher

 

21 Comments

  1. prospermind said,

    Good luck with the new job and all the best! 🙂

  2. Hyperion said,

    We’ll be waiting right here for that next post in November or December. Maybe the break will do your creative soul some good. Take care out there!

  3. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    Best wishes with the new job, and everything else!
    You, and your writing, will be missed!
    We will look forward to your return!
    Prayers, and (((HUGS)))

  4. ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

    We will wait for you here, Chris …
    All the good luck and happiness, and of good health and wealth as well!
    Love you, Christopher!
    Stay strong and we have you in our hearts, thoughts & prayers too.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thank you very much, Sherrie. ❤

      Although I'm no longer able to post blogs of my own since I'm now only able to do that on my Toshiba PC (which I can no longer use thanks to the Internet being canceled in my apartment), the thought hit me when I was thinking more clearly (after the shock of having my Internet and phone cancelled), that I will still have to spend a few minutes on a public library terminal just to read and comment on your blog posts because the thought hit me I can't not know what my best friend is doing and how she is feeling for 5 or 6 long months.
      So I will visit and comment on your blog, Sherrie to see how you're doing and to let you know how I'm doing.
      The most serious after effect of having my cable and Internet cancelled is no longer being able to listen to the Baroque Music Channel (Channel 431 in Vancouver) which plays Baroque Music 24 hours day and night.
      I told you I woke up when the Baroque Music Channel stopped playing last week the first time they cancelled my cable service and I managed to convince them to give me another week to play.
      Then yesterday when the Baroque Music Channel went dead, I got a queasy feeling in my stomach.
      They've cancelled my service- for good- this time since I have no money to pay the bill.
      I told you in the 2 years following my dad's death (from 2010-2012) I wasn't able to sleep at night (following the shock of my dad's death and then the stress of the legal battle with my sister over my dad's house). I was only sleeping 1 to 2 hours a night.
      Then when I moved to Vancouver and discovered the Baroque Music Channel, I started playing the Baroque Music Channel on the TV when I went to bed and I was finally able to get a full 8 hours sleep at night.
      Years ago I was told by Archbishop Louis Falk the then Anglican Catholic Archbishop of St. Louis, Missouri when he was visiting an Anglican Catholic Church synod in Edmonton that there is a certain melody and rhythm in Baroque Music that is able to influence certain patterns in the brain and help people fall and stay asleep for awhile.
      He told me undoubtedly the big pharmaceutical companies are happy most people don't know this or otherwise people would start listening to Baroque Music at night and stop taking sleeping pills and the pharmaceutical companies would lose billions of dollars in profits over the loss of sales of sleeping pills and medication.
      So when I moved to Vancouver and discovered Channel 431 the Baroque Music Channel, I remembered Archbishop Falk's words and started listening to it when I went to bed at night.
      And sure enough it worked.
      I was finally able to get 8 hours of sleep at night for the first time in 2 years.
      And I've had 8 hours of sleep each night ever since save for last night – with no Baroque Music Channel playing in the background- I was only able to get 2 hours of sleep at most.
      So now I'm worried how I'll do the next few nights and particularly Sunday night / Monday morning when I'm starting a new job. What will I be like at work if I've only had 2 hours sleep the night before?
      So I need your prayers that I'll be able to sleep at night, Sherrie my dear friend.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        You are always in my heart, my dear friend. And in my Mind as well.

        I remembered years back before I met my now-so-called-husband, I was 2 years lost and hurt, and wounded after the terrible separation with my ex. It was the loneliest and the hardest time for me, but I did managed.

        I was too, just like you, went to the public library to be able to do use their free service of computer and internet. At the same time reading, writing and borrowing books even!

        Even though it was the worse time of the year for me, somehow the Library is like a church for me, a place of comfort and peace. It is quiet there and it helps me to be silent and healing in my own time. I love that moment of peace that from to time I do miss that time when I was on my own and no one bothers me.

        Last night, as I just about to lay me down to sleep, I was thinking of you. Holding my heart with one hand and closed my eyes, felt that sleeping is too, are difficult for me these days. But then, to hear and to see my children laughs that did bring me to sleep, at last …

        I was thinking a lot of you lately and I was so, so glad when Daniel told me he had send you something so that the least you have a little comfort for a week or two before you get your first pay.

        I just started to unpacked things for the class this morning while having a cup of coffee, feeling relief that now I had almost every school materials for the tuition class and that I can start this by next week already.

        You’ll be fine, Chris. I know you will because we humans somehow have the tendency to survive in any situation. Do not worry too much of me here, I have Daniel watching over me while you are gone. We both will definitely missing you here, of course. I will always write to you as often as I could and I know you will check on me from time to time.

        Love you, Chris!
        Do take care!

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        I love you too, Sherrie. ❤

        You appeared in a dream I had last night.

        I dreamed we ran our own detective agency and we were hired by the owner of a single cinema movie theatre that played old time classic repertory films to investigate the theatre because a ghost was reported to haunt it.

        While we went through the movie theatre with our flash lights looking for the ghost, a time traveler from the future (or someone who claimed to be a time traveler from the future) appeared to us and told us not to harm the ghost as it was a friendly ghost.

        Then I woke up.

        So I don't know if we ever got the chance to meet the Friendly Ghost of the Theatre. LOL !

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        wah hahahaha …You are always able to make me laugh, Chris. This is one of the incredible thing about you of which I really, really like and love. You know how to make people love and I bet you must have made your father laugh so much with your stories and jokes.

        You dreamed of me last night as paranormal investigators??? How cool is that? And to meet personally a Friendly Ghost and the time traveller.
        Must he Benedict Cumberbatch as Dr Who, who travelled in a telephone booth! LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

        Yes, it must have been Benedict Cumberbatch as Dr. Who.

        LOL !

        I’ve discovered I can’t give up writing entirely.

        I can’t write my regular vampire novel because I use so much current events in my writing and I can no longer post such chapters on the dates they occur.

        But do you remember Belvedere the ghost white salamander (he had dandruff flakes falling out of his ectoplasm) that I wrote about a couple of weeks ago?

        I decided to start writing about him before he was turned into a ghost white salamander by a gypsy courtesan in a Wild West saloon.

        I write the chapters in my Notes on my iPhone and then email the notes to myself in Gmail where I’ve now created a special folder for my Belvedere stories.

        Then when I get regular Internet service again, I can cut and paste the stories to my WordPress blog.

        So far:

        -Belvedere was born in New Orleans, Louisiana in 1840, served in the Confederate Army during the Civil War and is now currently a Wild West outlaw.

        Since these stories are set in 19th Century America, they’re in the past and I don’t have to worry about the impact of current events.

        I call each chapter a Western Vampire Novel chapter as I’ll eventually have Belvedere meeting a bunch of vampiresses as well as Sherrielock Holmes in the Wild West.

        LOL !

        I’ve written two Western vampire novel chapters so far. 😀

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Oh that is good that you take your time to continue writing. It is the ONE THING that I can never give up, although that did happened to me after I was separated and divorced from my ex … I went through great tribulation that almost had me for years … but I got up and walked with my head held high, I found my strength along the way.

        You know what I did years back when I do not have the internet and I do not have the computer? I used either the computer service at the computer lab in the university or that I write my journal. Years ago I do not have leather journals, I bought notebooks and filed it like documents and pasting pictures in it too. Because I have always been a diary writer and so that was my joy to keep my mind off from all the problems and heart break I have at that time …

        I visited the library like almost everyday and spend much time reading more than I did before. I regenerated my body, mind and soul for that almost two years of my life without computer and internet. I did jogging every day as well and I was healthier, and fitter than before and it helped me being positively both mentally and physically.

        And I went out every weekend, walking for hours and miles in the city to visit many places I have never been at. That was a good life at the same time.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, I still have a few old notebooks that I can write in.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Yes, try that. Just go outside when you have the time, be in a park or at the river or lake … it helps much because you are away from all the troubles for awhile. Your eyes feasting on other views that makes you for a moment thinking of something else …

        I wish you all the joy and peace in all of this, Chris!

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thanks very much, Sherrie. 🙂

  5. Mahevash said,

    Sorry to hear that. You will be missed greatly. Good luck with everything and talk to you soon. Take care.

  6. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    Not sure if I have your e-mail. Can we exchange e-mail addresses so I can check on you once in awhile…in case you do get a chance to check e-mail?
    Let me know! 🙂

    adamswoman@yahoo.com

    HUGS!!! 🙂

  7. anaatcalin said,

    Chris, I’m missing you 😦 While I’m EXTREMELY happy that you get a job, and I truly and most profoundly appreciate your dedication to your job and not “stealing” time from your employer to do personal stuff, I will be missing you more. My appreciation for you grows seeing how dedicated you are, and I thank God every day that you got a job and you’re out of immediate financial difficulties. Missing you, Ana

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thank you, Ana.

      Although my boss really admired my attitude and work ethic, after 3 days of work he reached the conclusion that I do not seem to have an innate telemarketer ability- an ability to connect with people over the phone to make sales.

      Their quota there is normally telemarketers try to make on average 3 sales a day. Now some days are slow so if people make more sales the next day, that’s added to their average.

      But after 3 days, I had not made a single sale.

      Plus he listened in to a few calls I made and while he admired my persistence, he said while most people can become good telemarketers, there are some people who just inately for whatever reason do not have a natural telemarketing ability.

      He said sadly I’m one of those.

      And he said judging from my personality, attitude and work ethic, he could see why Sara recommended me and gave me a reference but unfortunately I just can’t seem to click as a telemarketer.

      So I was laid off on Wednesday.

      I did get my cheque for my 3 days of work but now I’m back to square one- no job.

      I think at this point in my life, I’m going through what Job went through in the Bible- a period of tribulation.

      I don’t know how to get out of it.

      I’ll just have to keep getting out of bed each day and plugging away and see if I can get out out of this hole I seem to be trapped in.

      The only thing I can really rely on at the moment is prayer.

      Because it seems every thing I personally try to do turns to dust.

      • anaatcalin said,

        I’m really sorry to read that you got laid off, Chris! Telemarketer is a hard job, and indeed one needs a certain set of skills to do it.I for one could never do that. I also think you made no sales because you’ve been very stressed, and your boss’ closely watching you might have made it even worse. Maybe you need something whith less emphasis on immediate results. I truly do think telemarketer is one of the toughest jobs out there, and I really admire those who can do it, because I suck at it. It’s so hard. I’m praying for you that you find something else soon! Just as a note, phone marketing is forbidden in Germany, it’s against the law. But I know in the States (maybe Canada too) the competition is fierce.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        The competition is fierce in Canada, Ana.

        And I’ve been under stress for most of the year.

        So I don’t think that helped matters.

        And I agree- telemarketing is a very hard job.

Leave a Reply

