Observations and Reflections From Walking Along Vancouver’s Sea Wall: A Poem

July 5, 2016 at 7:45 pm (Poetry) (, , , , , , , , )

Observations and Reflections From Walking Along Vancouver’s Sea Wall: A Poem

I walked along the Vancouver Sea Wall yesterday
from English Bay around the edges of Stanley Park to the Burrard Inlet and then downtown
Because I realized in 4 years of living in Vancouver
I never walked it
It was a cool cloudy day
which was good
never pleasant to long walk in intense heat
A strong wind blew along the path as I walked
Waves crashed on to the shore
Symbolic I thought of the state of affairs for myself and many of my friends and the world at large
As I turned the bend where I could catch a glimpse of the city of West Vancouver on the other side of the Burrard Inlet
There was a huge rock on the water
that stood in front of the shore
And there was a modeling photo shoot going on
A very beautiful woman wearing a white wedding dress stood against the rock
as the wind blew and the waves crashed against the back of the rock
It made for a very interesting photo
And I wondered,
Does this mean getting married
is equivalent to ending up on the rocks
as sea and storm and wind and waves crash around you?
No doubt my married friends would be able to tell me whether this is so.

-A poem written by Christopher
Tuesday July 5th 2016.

41 Comments

  1. ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

    I love the journey of your walk, along the sea walls. I did on a British shoreline many years back when I had a vacation at one of the abbey alone. I have the need to be alone back then when my life was in waves of troubles and heart break … But that journey lasted a million satisfaction as the place itself left a miracle healing on its own on you. It left traces of peace, hollow-like-mindedness and beyond … I really do miss that time to do such vacation at the abbey to which many of my friends criticised as ‘most-boring’ thing to do.

    I hope you find your peace while having that walk, my dearest Chris … Speaking of which is odd, I was thinking of you when I had a walk in the woods yesterday … I sat on top of my fav. hill and watching the days goes by as the scent of lavender filled the place with wonder … it was kind of a bittersweet moment and sad, and a sense of deepness in your spirit far within your own mind & soul …

    To think of what sort of fate lies for all of us, left me with more wonders and questions … un-answered ….

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      You stayed at an abbey once and walked along the British shoreline eh?

      Sounds wonderful. 🙂

      I took your advice and talked to one of the priests at the Church this afternoon – a wonderful and godly man from the Philippines.

      He’s going to see if there are any parishioners who’d be willing to let me live with them for a while rent free while I find a job.

      That would be a god send if that happened.

      It’s interesting that you thought of me yesterday while taking your walk and you sat on a hill fresh with the scent of lavender.

      I believe lavender is purple in colour isn’t it?

      The reason I ask is because one of the bloggers who liked this poem is Paul F. Lenzi.

      In the notification I got, I noticed he wrote a blog post titled Lupine so I clicked on that.

      It was a poem he wrote about purple flowers called Lupine (I didn’t know there was such a flower)

      But the photo for the poem he used was of a Lupine coloured hill in what’s called the White Mountains range in New Hampshire.

      But here’s the thing- about 20 years ago I had a very vivid dream about visiting New Hampshire (I’ve never visited there in my life).

      But the dream was so vivid – that I still remember it to this day.

      Anyways in the dream, I saw some mountains and they were all purple at the top.

      I remember when I woke up, I thought, “There can’t be purple mountains in New Hampshire.”

      But looking at that photo on that blog tonight, it was the exact same scene I saw in that dream.

      So that must mean something.

      God is telling you and I that He’s watching out for us.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Now, this is a photo I’d found in the internet of a field of lavender. Beautiful flowers with strong perfume scent that fills the whole field even the nearby forest when the wind comes blowing it in every direction. The fact that, actually, I got allergy against lavender if I smell it directly, but from afar and I don’t directly in touch with it then I am alright.

        But the purple hills were blanketed all over the place with both the purple lavender plantation and also Rapeseed Oil plants. So, incredibly beautiful!

        Plus that the sight of the blazing field set on sunlight are most magical when you sit at the right angle of the hills. I find peace in walking away from home for a while, but I must be closer to the nature to feel at peace and find that healing in silence …

        Probably God is watching over us, Chris … HE has always been, you know. Remember when I told about the repeated numeral sights I’d seen? It still occurs to me often enough that I start to get annoyed because I cannot know what it means, or what it tells me … If only I got the third eye to see what is beyond these all …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Wow, that really is a beautiful photo, Sherrie. 🙂

        It looks like the same colour as Lupine growing on those mountains in New Hampshire. 🙂

        Thanks for sharing. ❤

        Yes, I remember you telling me about those numerals you see but don't know what they mean.

        Yes, God has always been watching over us.

        I guess I just get discouraged sometimes.

        I guess I'm the type of person who likes a lot of reassurance. LOL !

        I hope God doesn't mind that.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Probably because God knows I love things intellectual … but it seems He is teasing me with numeral signs as He knows too well, I am not a Mathematician. LOL

        Dear Lord … I am a writer … write me a letter, please … I think He wants me to work my way out on this one … using my head and instinct … Hmmm …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Can you remember what the numbers were?

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Yesterday for example I saw like 12:21 or 15:51, or 19:99, or 01:01, etc … Too many ranges of numbers from 0 to 9.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Hm, interesting.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Oh geezzz … when I really look at those numeral things … those are the time on my handphone or the computer … always appear …

        I think I know now what it means … Simply hit me THERE! I think He meant to communicate me using the bible verses, perhaps? Oh, dear … why didn’t I really see this before??? …

        I’ll take note when those numbers appear again … then I shall tell you if that is what I thought it is …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        But no names of any of the books to go with the verses?

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        No. But I have found a few bible verses accordingly to those numerals of which I noted down.

        Amazingly it has some important messages to me regarding my situation … I will tell you on this soon enough, Chris …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Hopefully it will help you through this situation, my dear friend.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        These are two pictures of the Rapeseed Oil plantation & flowers. Wonderful, isn’t it? It is a sea of flowers where one can just drown in it without being breathless. LOL

        Why I told you to do to the church to tell a priest there about your condition there … because I did the same thing years ago after I got separated from my ex-husband. That was in the year 1999. I remembered well that I was desperate to escaped the house after he hit me badly on my face and thrown me to the walls where I got crashed down on our book cabinet … I ran away after he had left. I took one luggage with only important things packed and ran away to the church in Frankfurt … I have not the car at that time, but I used the train to go down there as I knew the priests there well.

        Two sisters who worked in a Catholic shop at the back of the church had helped me and I stayed almost 4 months with them as I applied for the welfare and also searching for a divorce lawyer. I just don’t dare to call the police because I do not want more troubles coming and I was glad at that time my girls were staying at their grandparents. I went secretly to visit them and my parent-in-laws helped me in any way they could. They want to offer me a place to stay but I refused because I feared the wrath of my ex-husband at that time.

        But now, he is the ONE who feared me because I took away the girls from him, won the case and sued him for mistreatment and abuse. He was forced to attend therapy for a year and since then the girls lived with me. It was a bloody battle for me for years on – if I’m not mistaken it was a bloody five years of war and heartbreak.

        I hope and pray for the best for all of us, Chris … for you, me and also for Daniel. I checked on him last night and he responded on my ghost blogs. I have not respond to him as I was ill last night. I realized he had written on the Origin’s story and I will check on him soon later this evening …

        Wish you all love and stay well, Chris!
        (◐‿◑) ❤

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        That is indeed a pretty field of flowers in the pic. 🙂

        Wow, I’m so sorry you were abused by your first husband. 😦

        It was most compassionate and wonderful that those sisters let you stay with them during that time.

        Wish you love and all the best during this time as well, Sherrie. ❤

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        It was a scary moment … to know at moment you are to FACE such evil in the face of your own love ones … the one who was supposed to protect and gently handle you …

        At that time I was not that strong enough to fight, but I did as my martial art practise was mild … but enough to give me the advantage to put him down … of which I did. I remembered very well enough how I hit him back, for fearing for my own both life and physically damage. I hit him hard enough to pushed him back more and more … He forgot that I can karate and that did him at last when he hurt me so bad …

        I managed to pinned him down, I crushed his left shoulder to the floor, poked his trepazius muscle with three of my fingers while holding his shoulder blade flat which weakened him. I never knew he would or could’ve attacked me that way … For the first time in my life, I feared for my own …

        For my own sake and for the kids, I’d left … He begged me to return many times on the phone, but as soon as I said ‘NO’, he became violent and in rage, screaming at me with all the foul words he could’ve said … It was awful …

        He was never being abusive until he had lost his job and a couple of months being jobless had changed his personality more and more … He was in bad debts and lost loads of money at that time and had to given up his business and house was sold …

        The two Catholic sisters were plain nice, gentle and kind-hearted. They treated me very well and I visited them every day to greet them and even offered little help in the shops as doing accounting work for them. At last the church took me in and I worked as an accountant for two years. Not much earning, but the least I managed to rent a one-room apartment facing a valley where the view was tremendous and the forest hills were my best healing sight every evening when I come home … A year after the great battle in and out of the court, finally I got my girls … That was step by step moves and I remembered when my ex had to send the girls to my apartment, they cried in happiness to see me for I haven’t seen them for a year long …

        To imagine how that was for a mother … It had changed and formed me into a new individual – stronger, wiser, humble & filled with wisdom …

        I swore I will never want to go through something like that ever …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        It was a good thing you knew karate.

        Wow! I’ve been out of a job now for about 7 years (although more intelligent people do say that being an author and writer is a job- although not one that pays well at the moment), I lost my house (when the courts ruled in favour of my sister) and I’m massively in debt.

        But I don’t abuse those that I love.

        I just write stuff about shapeshifting hamsters called Renfield and culinary delights enjoying concert pianists called Amadeus and ghost white salamanders’ mortal lives as figures in the Wild West named Belvedere.

        This is I guess where it helps to be insane in that regard.

        But I keep saying to God, “Lord, I’m as sensitive in personality as Vincent Van Gogh was. Please don’t push me to the point where I end up doing what he did at the end of his life.”

        This is my prayer these days.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Yes, as writing is a way to find healing and peace in mind for you and for me, and for Daniel as well … I created Sherrielock Holmes out of nowhere and it ended very well in your western stories … I want to hear more of her story as an immortal, though she is not a vampire or zombie … Just because she ate the Supernatural Magic Mushroom … LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, what was the Chinese word for Supernatural Mushroom again?

        I think I used it in that chapter where she bought the Supernatural mushrooms in London’s Chinatown marketplace.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        It is Lingzhi mushroom.
        If there is magic in there, most people ends up in heaven after eating it … LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

        Very deadly eh?

  2. ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

    I did load those photos for the above comments, but it did not appear. So, repeat the notes and here are the pics of the ‘Rapeseed Oil’ plantation & flower.

    The name of that flower is not nice, isn’t it? Rape plant??? LOL

    • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Yes, in Canada, they call that plant Canola (from which we get canola oil) since it’s a much more pleasant sounding name for the plant.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Yes, I wonder who did gave name like “Rapeseed” to a plant type … perhaps there was an incredibly terrible story behind it. I won’t want to know … Ugh …

        But Canola is better and nice – sounded more like a “Victoria” or something …
        (✿◠‿◠)

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, Canola is a much nicer and beautiful sounding name to it.

        I remember driving through the Alberta countryside with my dad and seeing all these lovely long beautiful fields of Canola growing.

        So beautiful. 🙂

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        And Canola is beautiful word to include in poetry rather than “rapeseed” … that is so terrible, isn’t it? In German they called as Rasp Öl plant … at least it sounded okay …
        (≧‿≦)

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, rasp plant sounds better than rape plant.

        That’s why I never watch Game of Thrones even when it’s on regular television.

        The one time I watched it, it started with a rape scene.

        So I never watched it again.

        Just like I no longer watch the History Channel program The Vikings.

        Because they showed the Viking chieftain nastily holding under water in a river and drowning a beautiful Asian woman who looked like my friend Kriztina (RestlessButterfly at Xanga).

        So I don’t watch that anymore.

        Extreme violence, murder and mayhem on TV and in film I can no longer take anymore.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Oh, yes … the rape scene of the Dothraki people … That was awful, yes. The reality which happens today even in most brutal ways in many war countries.

        It was filled with violence everywhere and death … then there this episode of the Red Wedding. That was disgusting as well.

        The books are better to read than to watch the violence in Tv … It makes one mind cringed …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, in a book, you can shut down your imagination if you want to and skip to the next page.

  3. Hyperion said,

    A very deep and mindful poem and discussion. It was heartbreaking to read of Sherrie’s mistreatment but this made Sherrie more remarkable for the strength of her character through the many trials she has had to face. I believe the visions of numbers are biblical and are trying to guide to a clue of God’s word. There is a prediction there for interpretation. The color Purple is royalty and also loyalty. Perhaps a clue. Such moments of reflection and introspection followed by action and perseverance can build a bridge to a better moment, even a better life. Or, we can fall off the curb and a bus run over us. In that moment we serve the purpose for a young mother to point and tell her ADHD child, “see what happens when you don’t look both ways before crossing the street.” In that moment a new U.S. President is formed that will lead us in the cross walk against the signal signifying it’s safe to cross. But, he or she will look both ways. This is to say, our unseemly demise still serves God’s purpose.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      LOL !

      Yes, I suppose that’s true, Daniel. 😀

      You know when I was growing up, a child with ADHD was called by another name – a brat!

      And usually their behavior was modified by a good Sherrielock style tomatoing rather than some pschotropic medication.

      • Hyperion said,

        Yes, it’s possible most of my tomatoed rump days as a child was due to a lack of focus on those things my parents told me NOT to do. But, searing pain in my posterior position helped me focus like an Irish Setter on a covey of quail.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        ROTFL !

    • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

      You can read my above note in respond to both of yours and Christopher’s message … It was a bloody battle for me, Daniel … My father told me he could’ve fly over to me and have my ex tortured the way the clan did to the enemies … Uh, I won’t want that for anyone … I do not want the fate of my ex, who is also the father to both of my girls ended in violence … I abhor violence and brutality … It is not a good way for me or for anyone …

      • Hyperion said,

        I must have posted while you and Chris were still writing back and forth or I missed the part about your connection to the numbers, but great minds think alike. 😀 I admire your strength to handle it in a way that ended up being best for you and your daughters. It’s sad how people can breakdown in anger like that but you did the right thing and though it was bloody hell, you persevered for the sake of a better outcome. I understand your father’s offer. It must have hurt your family very much to know of this. There was much violence in my life and I never felt any pain for my own suffering but the suffering of my family and of the innocent people I couldn’t help in conflicted areas left deep scars that have not yet healed. To see what people will do to others in its most beastly form turns one into a revenge killer faster than anything else in the world. The lust for revenge consumes the soul and the flesh and ultimately, one becomes the beast they hated in others and wanted to kill. It takes a very strong mind to hold to discipline, honor, and integrity when the world goes mad all around.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        In our marriage, he was before that, quite a gentleman and a very soft man. But life circumstances can changed a good man to a beast and if you are not that strong enough to fight the situation, your own emotions will get hold on you and you will become THAT monster … and that what had happened to him …

        I was not prepared for his attack and by the time he reached out to me, it was too late. I remembered the fear I felt and the sweat break loose when he got hold of me and I couldn’t think fast enough to know how to react or to respond because when that happened, our two girls were in the other rooms playing and they didn’t hear anything for the possibility that their tv were a little loud. I remembered very well they were watching ‘My Little Pony’ series and the door were closed to their room at the end of the corridor.

        When he was pinned down, he was in shock because he couldn’t move anymore as I did managed to poke his nervous system of which was on his trepazius shoulder muscle, a causing a momentary blockage of which called as a pressure point fighting. I was taught by my father using pressure point fighting using Tai Chi technique but I remembered only a few tactics that will somehow managed to save my life or the others for a short moment before the enemy came up to regain their strength again … But that did weakened him terribly that he couldn’t even move his legs. He felt numb on both of his upper body and right arm.

        That way he will not hurt me, nor I will simply continuing to hit him back which might sends us both to the hospital on the same day. It was the best and the safest way to hold him down … He screamed all the time asking me what did I do to him. I yelled at him back while pinning his spine down with one of my knee. I warned him that I could have snap his neck all the way round if he ever touch me ever again …

        He had left after an hour lying face down there and cursing between breathing. I simply just kick him once or twice to warned him to shut up or I will give him a good punch on the side of his face. He did calm down later after that … he realized too late that his actions was silly and abusive … It was too late by then …

        He left the house feeling weaken and in that time I managed to packed two of his luggage and throw him out right. But I left after that and give the girls to his parents until I find my way to a new apartment, money and lawyer. It took awhile to win the case and the least the first year I got the money from him but I never see him for almost two years or so. I see the girls in between visits to their grandparents and after a year court battle, I had my girls until … today …

        Even after all those time, my ex husband is still quite violent. He throw things and smashing things … etc … but he never tries to touch me again … nor did he ever touch anyone else either … He feared me … that is good so …

        Now, all of my kids learned martial arts. Now, my fifth child, my seven years old daughter are in both Karate and Tai Chi. She and her older brother are interested much in martial arts than the others. Really cute to see them trying to kick things! LOL

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Wow.

        So sad what happened to his personality.

        I get frustrated and angry at times but I try not to lash out at other people unless somebody is acting like a real obnoxious jackass themselves.

        Good to see your kids are learning martial arts, Sherrie. 🙂

      • Hyperion said,

        It is a sad thing but some men can lose themselves when their self esteem is lost to a false sense of losing their manliness to bad circumstances. You were fortunate to have the skill and presence of mind to extricate yourself and your daughters from the situation and you persevered. It speaks of your strength in a very hard time.

      • ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

        Good men & women are at risk always going bad when something happened to them. But to those who has gone the hardest and rockiest roads in life earlier in life somehow changes them into a more adult individual rather than making them a monster. Unless there was a terrible unforgiven tragedy had happened to them.

        In this case is that, one showed that people like my ex, couldn’t tolerate real life events and it is actually the fear of their own existence that made them into a very bitter and unhappy person. Then when they become emotional, they can be quite a disaster.

        I know back then, I acted quickly and that I acted on time to reacted with the right decision to go and left in the first place. A lot of other people out there who are in the worse conditions in the same cases of abuse, rather just stay because they think they believe that the very person that did that to them has the chance to be good again … It won’t. Because monster needs a good hunter to drive them out and they need healing and therapies – a good scrub until they are all clean up.

        I know abusive people when I encounter one and I worked before as a social worker for long years before I moved to worked in my husband’s medical & ambulance firm. It had changed me totally inside-out and I battled much worse demons that I did with my ex …

        But all in all these experiences are worth a thousand times because it forms you into a better and stronger human being in so many ways. Still, it depends on you on how you continue using these life experiences either as knowledge, your armour of life or that it formed into some sort of nightmare and you’ll get infected badly by unseen virus that might gives you all the best suffering and agony of all kind that made you cringed in your own skin.

        I have been down the worse roads in my life until at the point when I almost get homeless as well. I did ended up living in a trailer for a couple of years because I want to save money and cramped up in between tight & small spaces. But I was very grateful and thankful that I still have a good trailer rather than sleeping in a car like some unfortunate people.

        Like I told Chris, here in Germany, no one gets that poor to the point where you might landed at the street. That is only if you do not register at the Welfare office and not doing your paperwork. It is all given to you instantly after you register yourself there and you get instantly help.

        I hope he is okay where he is now … I don’t see him appearing for two days now, I think … I am worried about Chris … I pray that he is okay and survive well …

      • Hyperion said,

        You are so right, Sherrie. The strong heart and mind can withstand great challenges without becoming a monster. Strength and courage never means life isn’t hard or even overwhelming. The pain of suffering is never less but can always be more. Many will succumb to the challenge very early on. I have witnessed so many people in the most difficult situations hold on to their humanity and in doing so retain their dignity. I’ve seen many accept their death quietly under great suffering but not give up until that moment they can no longer speak or move. The opposite is true as well and in those people the common denominator is they were never challenged before and usually had life handed to them without great effort or sacrifice. They never developed the ability to see beyond the moment of their anguish and so their behavior is to blame the world and not see how they can change themselves to overcome adversity. Then there are those whose minds were never right for whatever reason and never will be. There is nothing anyone can do to change their situation and they are the dangerous animal that will harm anyone they chose for their own self gratification. To me they have sacrificed their right to be honored with charity, respect, and benevolent treatment. The ones with only evil intent should never be allowed to walk the earth and prey on the innocent. It is far more humane to eliminate them quickly. Our unwillingness to do that has populated the planet with sick and angry predators. The only answer is for the normal individual to prepare themselves for the challenges of life and to know that evil is all around and develop the skills and knowledge to deal with it. One cannot do this for long alone. Being connected to family, friends, and community is important to maintaining a healthy attitude. I do hope Chris can connect with the right people for a job that suits him well and can return a healthy and prosperous way of life for him. His writing talent is wonderful and hopefully, he can find his way doing what he loves most. This is certainly a trying time for him. We all pray for our Blogoteer Brother’s good fortune to return to him.

Leave a Reply

