Pokemon Go: A Poem

July 24, 2016 at 3:36 pm (Commentary, Culture, Poetry) ()

Pokemon Go

Pokemon, Pokemon, get the app, you’re the man
Find the monster when you can,
look out, here comes the Pokemon

Stand around, look at your phone
lookin’ spaced out, you’re in the zombie zone

Get run over, walk into walls
as long as you find where the Pokemon crawls,
look out, here comes the Pokemon.

-A poem written by Christopher
Sunday July 22nd 2016
to be sung to the tune
of the theme song of the
Spider-Man cartoon TV
Show

22 Comments

  1. ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

    There was a woman here in Germany got drowned in the sea for playing Pokemon and a fat young man fell into the water in the city as well. I am not sure how many was injured, but surely it is simply really crazy this Pokemon game can do to mind of these people. And the fact is, it is not only the the younger generations, but also some adults.

    There is this one man who gave up his job to play Pokemon and he earned certain money for playing it. Really a crazy world we are living in … Simply so unrealistic digital! LOL

  2. Dracul Van Helsing said,

    Yes, it’s crazy, Sherrie.

    LOL !

    The Apocalypse of Saint John prophesied that the whole world wondered after the image of the Beast.

    Just no one knew that the Image would turn out to be a Pokemon monster.

  3. Natasha Pea said,

    I heard about Pokemon Go.. What is it? A new app?

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Yes. it’s a new game app. The latest craze.
      A combination of reality and illusion.
      People play the game at real places and have occasionally harmed themselves and others while looking at their smart phones waiting for an image of a Pokémon monster to show up.

      • Natasha Pea said,

        It is crazy how obsessed some people get with virtual world. I remember there was a game when I was young, Counter Strike or something like that, it was extremely popular, and one boy, after playing for months every day, got so delusional, he killed his mother when she told him to stop playing, hid her body in a closet, and went back to play…

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        CounterStrike? I think that’s come back as an App game.

        Arnold Schwarzenegger was doing commercials for it.

      • Natasha Pea said,

        Oh wow. Well I never played any of those games. There was one game I played a couple of years ago that I liked was FarmVille on Facebook, where you grow vegetables lol.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, I think I remember playing that game Farmville.

  4. Hyperion said,

    A very clever critique of those obsessed Pokemon players. We have had more than a handful of people killed from carelessness. It’s okay to have fun but not okay to lose your life or destroy property for the sake of a game. Where has our collective mind gone? Oh..Wait….be right back. I spied a Pokemon on the freeway.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      It appears everyone has lost their collective mind. LOL !

      • Hyperion said,

        I think so. I’m trying to determine if I am in the collective or not 😯

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

        Speaking of collective, they have a book by Jesuit priest Andrew Greeley in the shelter bookshelf there that I’m currently reading.

        It was published in 1987 but set in the year 1984.

        Anyways a radical priest Father Ron Crowley took time off from parish work in the book for “what he called prayer and reflection”.

        But the narrator says, “It was really to take a course in Community Organization which was just another name for learning how to apply Marxist principles to society and to get people to adopt a Marxist mindset without them being aware of it.”

        Wow! Imagine that!

        Can you imagine what America might be like if one of those Community Organizers was ever elected President? 😉

      • Hyperion said,

        Ruh-RooooH! Well, on the good side it will only take about 50 years to undo all the damage done by our Marxist community organizer. Now we’ll put in either Bozo the Clown or Cruela Deville and her 101 stolen Dalmations. We gotta keep up with Merkel. WE can’t let her and Pootin have all the fun. That book sounds like an interesting read. Imagine Christianity and Marxism, hmmmm…

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes. the book seems to be quite prophetic.

      • Hyperion said,

        I wonder if he was a Black Dragon. They have ways of influencing outcomes in subtle, disguised ways. Hiding in plain sight would be easy as a Jesuit. Hmmmm

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        He was Irish-American.

        You know reading this book- a work of fiction- he does know a lot about Irish history and folklore.

        And from my knowledge of it- there actually does seem to be a great similarity between Irish mysticism and the Irish warrior ethos and the Asian mysticism and Asian warrior ethos represented in so many Asian countries.

        There were also so many fierce warrioresses and fighting females in Irish history like the Dragon Sisters of Asia.

        I wonder if there’s some sort of connection.

        Greeley’s central character in the book recounts certain psychic experiences in his childhood and young adulthood.

        Because nobody else seemed to share them, he cast them aside figuring it was just the work of his imagination.

        And now at the age he’s writing the story, he doesn’t think they actually happened.

        But reading his experiences, I had the exact same psychic experiences as a child and young adult.

        Since no one else seemed to have them, I put them aside as imagination and now years later, I don’t think they did occur.

        But reading this book, maybe they did since I never thought anyone else not even people claiming to be psychic had them since I recounted no psychic mentioning these experiences.

        But maybe Greeley an Irish-American is projecting himself into his main character and he had those experiences himself.

        I of course am Irish through my maternal grandfather’s side.

        So maybe the Irish as a race have genetically inbred in them such visions- like certain families and clans in China had.

        It’s interesting reading that book.

        I think I may have stumbled upon an ancestral ability I had and then dismissed because others did not seem to have them.

      • Hyperion said,

        Well popular DNA theorist do believe that dramatic events stored in the acnestors memory is passed on in the DNA and resides in the deep subconscious. Who knows, these things can manifest themselves directly from our ancestors to our thoughts as they well up from the subconscious. It’s the same as an animal knowing precisely where to go during a migration even though the animal has never been there before. The code that governs life is imprinted in the DNA. And since we have a vast family of DNA related people, whose to say that many can’t have the same manifestations. I think DARPA should study this right next to the men that stare at goats. Perhaps there is a link after all.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Well if DARPA wants to pay me a vast amount of money to study my psychic abilities, I won’t object. 😀

        Reading more of Fr. Greeley’s book, the great Irish folk hero Finn MacCool (who I could always relate to) is described as the Irish equivalent of a Samurai.

        No wonder why I find Sherrie’s tales of her father and her father’s ancestors so riveting.

        I’ve always loved Japanese culture and Japanese films as well.

        I think there’s a similarity between Irish mysticism and reverence for nature and Japanese mysticism and reverence for nature.

      • Hyperion said,

        I think you can make a few million on your own given that opportunity. No need for DARPA’s olive drab anal probe. I agree with you totally. I am 21% Irish. It’s a long story but the family had arrived in England and as noble warriors of Scandinavia, found favor with the King of England who granted them the coat of arms and employment with the Earl of Bath in later years. For three generations the forefathers served the British Crown in Ireland and the grandson took an Irish wife. I’ve felt this connection to nature and the warrior ethos all my life and dreamed of ancient times as a warrior. I won’t elaborate but some of my own intuitive visions were interviewed by a certain agency and a famous terrorist attack was solved and the perpetrators brought to justice. I was also able to devine where the enemy would be and at what time. I would set up an ambush resulting in an early engagement with their 72 virgins. I kept those heavenly virgins fully employed with my tactics and strategies that came to me in waking dreams. I learned as a child to believe and listen carefully and also to keep my mouth shut. It didn’t matter the source of my ability. It worked and I used it to keep myself alive. I noticed under the right circumstance, most people have this ability and in a group of people motivated to use that ability, near miraculous things occur. It’s simply called a sixth sense for certain things and the world is crowded with examples of it’s existence. Believe and listen to it but beware. It can sound a lot like our own misguided thoughts and it’s easy to confuse the true voice with just the musings of a crowded mind making wild guesses. The true voice is different. When you learn the difference and trust it. You won’t be led astray. Find your inner zen garden and listen to the music of nature and the true voice. It will guide you to your pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. You might have to get Sherrielock to tomato a naughty Leprechaun or two along the way but you’ll get there. I already know that. My true voice told me so. It’s why I keep urging you along. That, and I appreciate your friendship and your plight as well as admire your talent. You can’t fail once you come up with the right plan and approach to your fortune. I can tell you what it is but it’s more meaningful when you discover it on your own. That is the first step, Chris. Hear your true voice and discover your true path. Sherrie is already a skillful navigator. A beautiful soul and a strong and wise woman. She’ll tell you immunity from pain, suffering, and sorrow will silence the true voice and the desire to connect with it because an easy life needs no motivation nor any challenging path to walk. Perhaps you were meant to read that book so you could reconnect and now that you see and believe. Hear what is in store for you. 😉

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, perhaps I was meant to read that book.

        Reading it has caused me to think that this is indeed the case.

      • Hyperion said,

        The journey begins with the awakening. For me, after coffee. 😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        :LOL !

Leave a Reply

