I’m In A Homeless Shelter

July 27, 2016 at 1:46 pm (Life, Personal essays) (, , , )

I’m In A Homeless Shelter

Well I’ve spent the past 5 nights in a homeless shelter in case any of you have been wondering where I am.

I got evicted from my Vancouver apartment last week because I had no money to pay the rent this month.

That was the end result of not being able to find a job for 18 months from January 2015 to last month June 2016.

So I begged money to buy coffee so I can be in a cafe with free wi-fi to post this entry since my mobile phone company cancelled my service last Friday July 22nd because I hadn’t paid them in 3 months (counting pennies to pay my rent).

-A painful personal essay
written by Christopher
Wednesday July 27th 2016.

18 Comments

  1. Hyperion said,

    In 1st Corinthians Chapter 4 verse 10-11, Paul mentions in his letters on the true nature of Apostleship in verse 11 that to this very hour we go hungry and thirsty, we are in rags, we are brutally treated, we are homeless. Then he goes on to explain the gracious response to every form of physical and mental insult. Of course, this is out of context of the entire chapter and its intent but it is a reminder to me that being humble and gracious in the presence of depravity and deprivation is the path to divinity. I imagine the path is split between the way to a deep dark pit and the way to a revelation of what this all truly means to your future and how your struggle to change all that will lead you to that which you were always meant to know and do. If you know of Sylvia Plath, the poet and writer, you know of her struggles with depression. She wrote, The Bell Jar and it wasn’t well received at first and that was the last straw for her and she committed suicide but within months it became a hit and she is an icon among young women today that see their own life as a similar struggle. The point is she gave up months before she became an international star. If only she knew. Drink of this cup of blood and know that it saves you and does not condemn you. Only you have the power to do that. Hang in there, Chris. Find your path and follow it. Sherrielock Holmes is waiting at the end to tomato your naughty buns. What fun that will be. 😀

  2. Natasha Pea said,

    I’m so sorry to hear that Chris. I hope you are able to get back to your home town as you planned and stay with some relatives if you have any, or to find a job and start over in a new old place. Will you be able to get there?

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      i’m now in a new place and starting over.

      I know some people here but they don’t have room to take me in.

      Hence my being forced to seek shelter in a shelter.

      Hopefully I’ll be able to find a job soon.

      • Natasha Pea said,

        I hope so too, any job for now just to be able to get a place and start a new life step by step. Good luck and I truly hope you will be doing better Chris.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thank you, Natasha.

        I hope so too.

  3. Nicholas C. Rossis said,

    I’m so sorry, Chris! I kept hoping for a miracle, I guess. In fact, I’m still hoping, even if all I can offer at this stage is my thoughts and prayers…

  4. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    Oh gosh! 😦 I’m SO sorry hear all of this, Christopher! 😦 It makes me cry. 😦
    You have my prayers and best wishes. I wish I could do more.
    Just take one day at a time. Keep fighting. Keep your sense of humor. Keep writing. Write about what you are going through and how you are feeling and what you are learning, etc. That will help.
    I believe your new life/better life is just waiting for you to find it. Things will fall into place in the right timing.
    Know that you are loved and cared about around here. So many of us want the best for you.
    I hope you can update us once in awhile.
    I know a lady who lived out of a car for a l-o-n-g time. And she would go to a library almost every day and write on computer about what she was going through. That writing (of her story) became a blog and that blog became a book. She has impacted millions of people with her life/story.
    (((HUGS)))

  5. Dracul Van Helsing said,

    Thank you for your prayers and best wishes, my friends.

  6. Mithai Mumblezz said,

    I’m so sorry to hear this Christopher. I hope you find a job soon and things get better.

  7. Orwell’s 1984 Has Arrived In 2017 | Dracul Van Helsing said,

Leave a Reply

