Wilkie The Cat: Tea With T.S. Eliot: A Poem

August 1, 2016 at 2:41 pm (Arts, Culture, Literature, Poetry) (, , , , )

Wilkie The Cat: Tea With T.S. Eliot: A Poem

Wilkie The Cat was in a play
his buddies told him the part was gay
so Wilkie went home in a sulk
his homophobia he did not bulk
but Wilkie took the part nevertheless
not thinking he’d make a dramatic mess

Tea With T.S. Eliot was the name of the play
and Wilkie was the cat who dropped in at the poet’s house in May

Not a sound on the pavement he did make
when he drank tea laced with brandy while awake
Has the moon lost her memory? Wilkie sang when he forgot his lines
while his car parked in the theatre alley led to heavy fines
She is smiling alone- Wilkie noticed Mitzi sitting in the empty house
where she was as quiet as a mouse
The rest of the audience having stampeded like elephants out the door 10 minutes into the performance
and it wasn’t to the washrooms to use mouthwash or dental rinse

In the lamplight, the withered leaves collected at Wilkie’s feet,
but when compared with the theatre critics’ bad reviews the next day, the pile looked neat

One critic wrote, I’ll always remember where I was before I saw this play,
Life was beautiful then
I’ll always remember the time I knew what happiness was
before I saw Wilkie’s dialogue did not match his paws and claws.

-A poem written by Christopher
Saturday July 30th 2016

12 Comments

  1. ѕнєяяιє ∂є ναℓєяια said,

    This one sounded a bit sad.
    The last part kind of hillarious that Wilkie’s dialog does not match his paws and claws.
    Indeed.

  2. Hyperion said,

    I’ve been to a few plays like that. Surprisingly, one of the longest running and most successful plays was called, Cats the Musical. Wilkie would have been a natural in that play.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Some of the lines I used in the play were in fact from the musical Cats.

      I had read somewhere that the musical Cats was in fact based on a poem that T.S. Eliot wrote about cats.

      So that’s why I called the play Tea With T.S. Eliot. LOL !

      • Hyperion said,

        Ha! I should have known. 😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        The theme song from Cats was one of my mother’s favourite songs.

      • Hyperion said,

        Now I’m going to have to youtube it because it’s been a while since Cats was on my mind. So basically, that spot is drawing a blank.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        It”s the Dragons’ memory erasing techniques at work again.

        Either that or senility.

        But I’m sure you prefer the first explanation. 😀

      • Hyperion said,

        Well…closing in fast on my classification of prehistoric means senility is a real concern. I forget why. 😉

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

Leave a Reply

