Seeing An Old Friend Jack O’ Hare: A Poem

November 29, 2016 at 5:05 pm (Life, Literature, Nature, Poetry) (, , , , )

Seeing An Old Friend Jack O’ Hare:
A Poem

When my dad was still alive and I lived in his house,
there was a wild hare jack rabbit that lived in our back yard
that we called Jack O’ Hare.

He used to observe me when I worked on my computer downstairs
and my dad would occasionally look through the kitchen window watching Jack
as Jack watched me.

I was always fascinated how Jack’s fur changed colour throughout the seasons
In summer, he was gray
In winter, he was white, pure white in colour.

There was a neighbourhood pub I’d sometimes go to at night
And Jack would follow me there and then follow me home
I discovered this in the winter time when Jack’s footprints showed up in the snow
His footprints would lead up to the pub
and then lead back to my house

On one occasion in the winter when walking home,
I decided to turn around and look,
Sure enough there was Jack who quickly skirted behind a tree
when he noticed me turn around

My dad’s explanation for Jack following me
was that Jack was probably worried I’d end up drinking too much
and wouldn’t be able to find my way back home
so he was there as my guardian angel.

When my dad died and his most recent will and testament wasn’t found
and the house was sold by orders of my dad’s Estate
and I was forced to move,
I always wondered what became of Jack.

When I moved to Vancouver, in my writer’s imagination, I imagined Jack crossing the Rockies and coming to the West Coast to look for me
I imagined him living in Vancouver’s Stanley Park
waiting for me to show up
But we never connected.

This past July, I was evicted out of my Vancouver apartment when the rents got sky high
as Mayor Gregor Robertson slept while navel gazing in a yoga lotus position.

I moved back to Alberta
this time to Calgary
where I had to live 3 months in a homeless shelter

Eventually I did get into a place of my own this past autumn
Way on the northern outskirts of Calgary
Almost in the country and farmland areas

And today when I left my place to walk to the bus
There in an area of parkland I suddenly noticed a huge snow white coloured jack rabbit
about the same size that Jack O’ Hare was

We seemed shocked to see one another
I stood there staring at him
And he stood there staring at me with his ears perked up
After a few minutes of staring at one another
we went our respective ways
I- my bus to catch
And Jack O’ Hare- carrots to eat and female bunny rabbits to woo.

Of course in reality I know it’s not the same wild hare jack rabbit
Not the same Jack O’ Hare who used to live in my back yard and who used to follow me to the neighbourhood pub and back home again

But in my writer’s imagination, I’d like to think so
That it is the same Jack O’ Hare
a Jack O’ Hare who followed me across the Rockies to Vancouver
And then followed me back across the Rockies to Calgary
and at last, we’ve found one another again.

And who knows?
A very wise man once wrote these words,
“There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy.”
Perhaps Jack O’ Hare and I have found one another again. ๐Ÿ™‚

-A Jack O’ Hare poem
written by Christopher
Sunday November 27th
2016

6 Comments

  1. Nicholas C. Rossis said,

    Wonderful! Sounds like your luck is turning ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      It is as far as rabbits go.

      Unfortunately the brainless idiots at Alberta Social Services reduced my food allowance money for this month for some reason.

      It was bad enough trying to survive before on the measly $80 a month they sent me.

      Now it’s even worse at $40.

      It looks like a Bleak House Christmas for me this year.

      • Nicholas C. Rossis said,

        Jesus…

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        And it gets worse…

        The landlady/roommate at my place has an OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder) when it comes to bathroom cleanliness.

        Every 2nd night during the whole time I’ve been living there, I’ve been getting a nasty note placed on my bathroom counter from her telling me that I failed to do this or failed to do that.

        Yesterday, the nasty note left for me on the bathroom counter was an eviction notice- she wants me out by December 31st.

      • Nicholas C. Rossis said,

        ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes as my friend Daniel told me when I told him, if it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all.

Leave a Reply

