When Old and Dear Friends Die: A Poem

December 27, 2016 at 6:16 pm (Commentary, Obituaries, Personal essays, Poetry) (, , )

When Old and Dear Friends Die: A Poem

When old and dear friends die,
it is a feeling hard to describe
Gray seems so much grayer
And light seems so much darker

Hearing of your passing this afternoon my dear friend
has quite literally knocked the wind out of me
And what makes it harder is we never met in person
We blogged at the same blogging site
meeting back there in 2007
We talked on-line
And we chatted over the phone
But we never met in person

You were a social networking rock of stability for me after my dad died back in 2010
phoning me, emailing me and asking me how I was doing.

I never realized how much my writing had impacted you
until you asked me to be godfather to your daughter Nyssa when she was born back in 2011
You obviously picked up and sensed from my writing that I was a fellow human being to be trusted
in asking me to be your daughter’s godfather

And now poor little Nyssa will be turning 6 this coming January 1st
And starting the New Year without her beloved Daddy 😦

I never got to India to see you, my friend
You were going to show me around your beloved country
Now if I ever visit your dear land, my contact with you will be to lay a rose at your grave or urn

But I will always be there for your daughter Nyssa
I remember you said that to me once on the phone, “Christopher, promise me that you’ll always be there for my daughter Nyssa.”
And I did.
And so I shall.

Au revoir, my dear friend.
Until we meet for the first time in person in God’s paradise.

-A poem written by Christopher
Tuesday December 27th 2016
in honour of his friend Amit Dhawan
who passed away this morning
in Delhi, India.

Leave a Reply

