Theft In A Homeless Shelter

January 4, 2017 at 6:04 pm (Commentary, Crime, Life, Personal essays) (, )

Due to the misfortune of having rented an apartment from a whacko crazy nut job landlady/roomate, I got evicted from my apartment this past January 1st.

The past couple of nights I’ve been living in a homeless shelter in Calgary.

Last night, my iPhone was stolen from my pants pocket (while I slept with my pants on) by some individual who’s obviously a total scumbag.

Every short story, poem and vampire novel chapter I wrote the past 4 years was in the Notes section of that iPhone.

Now it’s gone. 😦

Needless to say, I’m feeling totally devastated at the moment.

-A personal essay
written by Christopher
Wednesday January 4th
2017.

15 Comments

  1. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    😦 Oh no! 😦 I’m so sorry to hear about this, Christopher! 😦
    Is there any possible way of getting it returned?
    Did you have a passcode lock on it?
    (((HUGS)))

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      No, I didn’t have a passcode lock on it.

      • doesitevenmatter3 said,

        😦

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        😦

      • doesitevenmatter3 said,

        This makes me so sad and so mad…that someone would steal, let alone steal, from someone who is asleep. 😦

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, it makes me mad too, Carolyn.

        It’s not as if they could use the phone.

        It’s an old iPhone 4 (I purchased it in November 2012).

        Telus my provider cancelled my service last July (since I wasn’t able to pay them since I was diverting all my funds to pay for the exorbitant rent on my Vancouver apartment (that they had totally jacked up in the 4 years since I moved in)

        I was only able to use my iPhone then for Internet (and that was only when I was in a cafe or restaurant with free wi-fi).

        Plus I wrote on it my short stories, poems and vampire novel chapters in the Notes section.

        It’s not as if the idiot who stole it would ever be able to pass off that work as his own.

        Because as multitudes of people have told me over the years- I have a totally unique writing style.

        It would totally be difficult for them to emulate.

      • doesitevenmatter3 said,

        Yes, I agree about your writing. It’s just so maddening and sad that someone has your writing…it’s like someone stealing your child. At least in my eyes.

        They are so ignorant and mean, I’m sure they don’t even care about something as amazing as your writing. I’m sure they thought they could sell the phone for $ or something. 😦

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, most of the staff at the shelter figure he’ll try to sell the phone for money.

      • doesitevenmatter3 said,

        😦

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        😦

  2. Nicholas C. Rossis said,

    That sucks big time!!!!! I wish there was something I could do to help 😦

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks, Nicholas.

      Just seems to be a part of my ongoing misfortune.

      One night a few weeks ago I was getting soup at a street mission soup kitchen and I asked one of the people working there, “Do Biblical scholars know how long the period of Job’s troubles lasted?” and he answered, “Well many think 7 years.”

      “Well, that’s good,” I said. “It’s been 6 and a half years since my dad died which began my period of severe tribulation so maybe finally it’s almost over.”

  3. Orwell’s 1984 Has Arrived In 2017 | Dracul Van Helsing said,

Leave a Reply

