Snow Falls Like Raindrops: A Poem

February 22, 2017 at 5:44 pm (Life, Nature, Personal essays, Poetry) (, , , )

Today a snow fall
The snow fell like raindrops in suspended animation
Not a typical snowfall
but a magical mystery show of snow flakes looking like raindrops
and hitting the ground
much like a film of raindrops falling being put in slow motion mode

Snow flake falls
slow slow
burst of bubbles in the frozen air
dancing up and down to an unseen melody
of joy and laughter

Amidst this snowfall and its silence
one hears the still voice of God
I have found a new place to live
Last week I thought I had become an outcast
Last night I slept outdoors on a park bench
in the cold and the snow and the wind
for the first time in my life
I had become homelessness
in its most feared fashion
Today a meeting with someone
and I’m moving into a new place tomorrow

How quickly life can change within 24 hours
As I told a friend in Germany yesterday via email
“I now have the feeling God wants me to spend a night
in the cold- the damp frozen cold
If it happened to baby Jesus in the stable,
why should I be spared?”

As I told my friend, perhaps after a night in the cold
things will finally change after 7 years of Hell
the cold northern Hell of Niflheim
and the burning hot coals of Hebrew Gehenna

And so snow falls like raindrops in suspended animation
doing a slow motion dance of bursting bubbles
and magic wonderland
heralding that after the darkness
will finally emerge the light

-A poem written by Christopher
Wednesday February 22nd
2017.

11 Comments

  1. righteousbruin9 said,

    I am so relieved at the news. I, too, have spent a night or two on snowy ground, once without a roof over my head. Relief came the next day for me, as well. Live long and prosper.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Many thanks, Daniel, my friend.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      That should read, many thanks, Gary, my friend.

      Daniel is a good friend of mine who lives in Huntsville, Alabama but he’s been very concerned about me as well.

      Of course so have many of my WordPress friends as well as friends from my Xanga days have been concerned.

  2. Mithai Mumblezz said,

    I’m so glad to read this Chris!! This is wonderful news, hope things truly change as you want it, love and best wishes!☺☺

  3. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    OH good! I’ve been so worried about you, Chris! I’m so glad to hear that things are looking up a bit! I will just continue to pray and to send best wishes your way!
    Keep the faith! Keep up the hope! 🙂
    (((HUGS)))

Leave a Reply

