The Vampiress Siren: A Poem

May 29, 2017 at 4:15 pm (Folklore, Horror, Mythology, Poetry, The Supernatural) (, , , , )

I sailed the straits on my ship of old
carrying aboard the king’s own gold
it was there I saw her on the rock amidst the waves
she who had sent many sailors to their graves
Siren On Rock

Come and taste my lips of cherry she said
licking her lips that had recently bled
I jumped into the sea and swam to the rock
thinking we’d only sit and talk
instead she grabbed me and bit my neck
I turned and saw my ship was a wreck

Said I, there goes my ship
what a way to end a trip
she then sucked my blood and I was dead
because to this vampiress siren- I lost my head.

-A poem written by Christopher
Monday May 29th
2017.

38 Comments

  1. Aquileana said,

    I am quite sure this vampiress siren sang a sort of bewitched song for you before this encounter πŸ˜€ excellent poem, dear Dracul… Have a great new week! πŸ™‚

  2. CarmenAngthedrawer said,

    I really like this poem. I can even imagine a siren who is a vampire, is pretty cool!
    BTW…VAMPIRES!!

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      In my writings, I call a female vampire a vampiress.

      I don’t know why. I just did ever since I started writing a vampire novel back in the autumn of 2004.

      When I first started writing, I was the only one I knew who called a female vampire a vampiress.

      But within 6 months of my writing and using the term, I noticed there were other people who were starting to call female vampires vampiresses.

      Just like back in 2006, I wrote a vampire novel chapter where I had the Aztec vampire princess Qonzilqointec turn Leon Trotsky into a vampire in Mexico City back in August 1940.

      Then a couple of years later, I was reading a Wikipedia article on Leon Trotsky which ended with the statement, “Leon Trotsky was thought to have died after the Stalin-ordered assassination attempt on his life in Mexico City in August 1940 but he lived after he got turned into a vampire by the Aztec vampire princess Qonzilqointec.” (those were the days before Wikipedia articles weren’t carefully edited by senior editors).

      Someone had taken my idea and incorporated it into a Wikipedia article on Trotsky. πŸ˜€

  3. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    Oh, man, but what a way to go! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€
    Being akin to vampires, I love this poem! Great write, Christopher!
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

  4. Madame Vintage said,

    A sirens kiss is quite deadly but a sirens bite is enough to put you to your everlasting bed. An enchanting and wonderous poem Christopher.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks very much, Madam Vintage. πŸ™‚

      btw- What’s your first name? Not that you have to tell me of course but I enjoy calling my readers by their first names when I comment back to them. It makes it more personal and less formal.

      One great thing about writing an on-line blog as opposed to a book in the days before on-line blogs is that it now allows for greater interaction between authors and readers.

      In the old pre-Internet days, the only interaction between authors and readers usually occurred at autographed book signings.

      • Madame Vintage said,

        That’s quite true. Though it’s nice to have that real interaction with someone, it is not always Conveniently possible (especially when your across oceans from someone) so it’s been really nice to have met certain people whom you probably didn’t think you would come across with the same like minded thoughts.

        I don’t mind telling you my name l..though I thought perhaps you had figured it out..the hunt starts at my site. ☺

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Hunt eh?

        Diana or Artemis perhaps?

        Lauren? Since you have a photo of Lauren Bacall on your page?

        oh. I just checked your Gravatar profile. Sonea.

        I’ll keep my guesses in this comment anyways to give you a good laugh.

        Sometimes I’m too much like Sherlock Holmes and I overanalyze everything.

      • Madame Vintage said,

        I merely meant it in a vampiric way since your name seemed fitting for such a task I believe. I like the way your detective skills worked and a good call on Lauren.. Unfortunately it was as simply put as you found out..the name is Sonea. πŸ™‚

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        And a very beautiful name it is too. πŸ™‚

      • Madame Vintage said,

        You think so? Well I curtsey before you and say a thank you. πŸ™‚

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        You’re welcome. πŸ™‚

        And it’s a very unique spelling too- one I’ve never seen before.

        I’ve seen it spelled Sonia. And Sonja. And Sonya. But never Sonea. Always nice to have a unique spelling to your name.

      • Madame Vintage said,

        And thus I am glad to have been unique in such a form. (It was given to me by a magician who told me to keep wise, humble and kind and never forget ones true way in life).

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        It sounds like you had the same magical tutor that the young King Arthur did.

      • Madame Vintage said,

        Heh perhaps with a touch of sophisticated class I should add. I’m making this thread too long so I should step back into the shadows and bid you goodnight.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        You have a good night as well, Sonea.

        I always enjoyed the long witty dialogue between Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall in their films so I don’t mind. But I suppose if the thread gets too long, the fate Atropos might get annoyed and decide to cut it.

        So I bid you buonasera.

      • Madame Vintage said,

        You are far more advanced in your ancient knowledge than I could ever be, I suppose I haven’t lived the adventure quite so much but I’m hoping I do well in the foreseeable ruins such tales may take me. And yes I find such dialogues so very charming, full of such wit but then again I remember that this is a public page and it might seem a little strange to keep a conversation going heh. Maybe it’s the social awkwardness sonea talking.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        I remember there were two fellow bloggers here who went by the names HyperionSturm and SherrieDeValeria respectively.

        One was a former U.S. government employee and the other is a mother of 7 living in Germany.

        But I remember when they were here, I used to engage in long witty conversations with them.

        Quite often each one of my blog posts or their blog posts would have up to 78 comments on them as we’d banter back and forth.

        Unfortunately Daniel (HyperionSturm) discovered that a U.S. government pension isn’t really enough to live on (unless you’re a former President or long time Congressman or Senator) and he’s been forced to do a lot of consulting work in his retirement so he doesn’t have time to be on WordPress much. He shut down his site last autumn.

        Of course you can imagine what raising 7 children is like in Sherrie’s case but she’s had a lot of stuff of other stuff to deal with as well such as moving to a new house so she stopped writing here last autumn as well. She left about the same time as Daniel.

        So I really haven’t been engaged in too much witty banter back and forth in my comments since they left.

        I do admit that quite often I miss it.

      • Madame Vintage said,

        That’s a bittersweet shame. It sounds wonderful for the company you did manage to have on here. My site (for a year now ) is for my interest and passion only so I write when I can which unfortunately isn’t as consistent as many who conjure up quick posts every so often but I like to dedicate and bring about a worthy piece which can take some time. And yes I can understand when life can get tol overwhelming that you feel the need to leave. I’ve had a few blogging friends do the same, but you have already made quite a lovely impression from when you first found my page so I’m sure there are plenty who will reciprocate in the same manner more effectively than moi even.

        You have a lot of charisma and much depth, that is plain to see and it’s clear many bloggers will see to it too if they haven’t already. πŸ™‚

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thanks very much for the lovely compliment, Sonea. πŸ™‚

  5. Madame Vintage said,

    You’re most welcome Christopher

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Oh, I should tell you, Sonea,

      For some reason, no matter what computer I’m using there’s no Like button for Comments that appears on my own Dracul Van Helsing blog page.

      But other people must have them because they click they Like my comments and replies back to them on my blog page.

      But I’m unable to Click that I Like their comments or replies back to me on my Blog page.

      I’ve noticed you clicked a few times that you like my comments on this Blog page but I don’t know if you’re wondering, why doesn’t he like my comments back on his blog page?

      The reason being of course that no Like button or gif or icon for comments appears on my own Dracul Van Helsing blog page.

      Otherwise I’d click I like your comments and other readers’ comments.

      On your Madame Vintage blog page, I’m able to click that I like your comments.

      But I’m unable to do it on my own page.

      However I do like all your comments even though I can’t click Like on my own blog page.

      • Madame Vintage said,

        Oh wow then I must also tell you that as of two weeks ago..I’ve had the same issues my whole comment section and like buttons just vanished..I almost deleted my site out of frustration..it’s one of those things I didn’t know how to fix or where to begin rather..

        I took about two hours going into my widget in the dashboard to try and fix things which was very overwhelming for me. Perhaps check your dashboard the main admin section and we if your widgets are there..I’m sorry that doesn’t sound very useful and hard to fully explain in this manner. I don’t know how mine came back..I kept thinking t was a glitch but now I’m not so sure.

        If it persists you could try to tell word press? I don’t know if they may be of better help. I’m sorry your having trouble about this..one only knows how frustrating it can be.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yeah, I’ve actually had this problem since I first started at this site 10 years ago this month.

        I suspect it has something to do with the fact that I have a very old template- one I first selected 10 years ago.

        They keep telling me on my Editor’s page that I can update to a new template but I rather like this old template where the page looks somewhat like an elegantly styled Victorian tombstone- somehow appropriate for a vampire novel blog. πŸ˜€

      • Madame Vintage said,

        Ten years is a very big milestone..I admire your dedication. It’s nearly a year for me. πŸ™‚

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, I was just looking today at when my oldest blog post went back to and I noticed it was 10 years ago this month. πŸ™‚

      • Madame Vintage said,

        Happy ten year anniversary to your blog. A wonderful birth of stories. ☺

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thanks very much. πŸ™‚

        I was just reading my very first blog post which I wrote back on June 28th, 2007.

        I remember in those days, I used to make up my own quotations- my own take on previously famous quotations.

        But that post done in that vein said, ” A wise man once said a journey of a 1000 miles begins… with a broken fan belt and a flat tire.”

        It looks like I’ve come a long way in the past 10 years. πŸ˜€

      • Madame Vintage said,

        I love your motivation to keep going. It’s what our life is made up to be. How did you happen to find my blog if I may ask..and I’m grateful to have met the likes of you at that. You are a very charming and sophisticated man Christopher. πŸ™‚ Indeed you have come a long way.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thanks very much, Sophea. πŸ™‚

        You had made a comment on Fictionspawn’s blog and I noticed the photo icon of Lauren Bacall so I naturally clicked on it and came across your most interesting blog.

      • Madame Vintage said,

        You’re welcome and I appreciate you visitng my side of the world. πŸ™‚

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        I very much enjoy visiting your side of the world. πŸ™‚

        You probably remember the days when Tony Blair was Prime Minister of Britain.

        I noticed one of those early blog posts I wrote back in June 2007 was written shortly after Tony Blair had just stepped down as Prime Minister.

        So I wrote a blog post (which I’ve long since forgotten that I ever wrote)- a song called Goodbye Tony Blair (which can be sung to the tune of Sir Elton John’s song Candle In The Wind).

        Here’s the link if you care to read it. It might be bring memories of that time:

        https://draculvanhelsing.wordpress.com/2007/06/30/goodbye-tony-blair/

      • Madame Vintage said,

        Thank you I will indeed have browse. Hm I’m wondering if I want to resurface such memories of Mr Blair heh.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL ! Yes, it may be somewhat traumatic recalling Mr. Blair’s rule. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

