Back In The Saddle

July 6, 2017 at 10:23 pm (Life, News, Personal essays) ()

Back In The Saddle

Well last Wednesday, I was way up in northeast Calgary.
Returning back, I caught the C-Train.

The driver announced that Marlborough Station was closed due to a police incident. A shuttle bus would drive Bus passengers from Rundle to Franklin Station.

I thought that was fine but then it turned out 4 blocks west of Marlborough was also shut down as well as 4 blocks east.

There was a massive horrendous traffic jam.

So I got off the bus and decided it would be just quicker for me to walk to Franklin Station.

The trouble was the route is underground from Marlborough to Franklin on the train so I had no idea really how to get there.

So the direction I thought I was walking to Franklin took me completely in another direction.

I wound up 30 blocks away in southeast Calgary before I recognized where I was.

A street where I caught the No. 1 bus going west to Bow Ness or the No. 1 bus going east to Forest Lawn.

But the entire street was under construction.

I had no idea where the bus stops were now.

But I knew across the avenue, I could catch the No. 23 bus to the Chinook C-Train Station which was way out of my way from where I wanted to go downtown.

But it was the only place I recognized.

So that’s what I did.

The No. 23 arrived and I caught it.

The No. 23 from there takes a very long route to get to the Chinook Station.

And to top it off, a stupid Canadian Pacific railway train decided to cross the tracks on the route holding the bus up for another 20 minutes.

Needless to say I was really inwardly cussing and swearing at that point in time.

Eventually the No. 23 pulled up to Chinook Station.

I got out and caught the C-Train downtown.

Eventually I wound up at the downtown restaurant I wanted to go to 2 hours later than I intended.

And all because some stupid jackass had left a smoking package in front of a car dealership across from Marlborough Station.

But as a result of being 2 hours late, I was telling the waitress my day’s adventures.

The woman sitting next to me overheard and we started talking.

Eventually I wound up telling her the story of my life the past 7 years- the 7 years of Hell I’ve been through since my dad died.

I recounted all this in my previous blog post Orwell’s 1984 Arrives In 2017- my 7 years of Hell.

Anyhow she was so taken by my story, she offered to get me a new iPhone so I could continue my writing and my blogging.

Today she dropped it off at the building where I reside.

So I’m now back in the saddle to continue writing my blog.

Despots and jackasses of the world beware.

Renfield R. Renfied (Britain’s equivalent of Raymond Red Reddington) is back.

-A personal essay
written by Christopher
Thursday July 6th
2017.

8 Comments

  1. Hyperion said,

    You certainly must see the devine jntervention in your story. Time and again in your journey alongside Dante and Virgil, you are guided to a higher level of hell at crucial moments to study and learn more of what the masses at the lower rings of hell endure in the Canadian paradise. I’m fascinated to learn what you will do with this vast knowledge and experience. Thank Buddha’s aunt Tessie Mae there are still compassionate souls wandering the earth and crossing your path. 😇

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Yes, Daniel, I can certainly see divine intervention afoot here.

      The Devil is certainly trying his worst via ex-KGB operatives, Donald Trump’s toupee, Vatican Cardinal Walter Kasper and the Calgary Public Library.

      But thank God for kind and compassionate souls.

      And I didn’t know Buddha had an aunt Tessa Mae. Is she the one who added grits, Virginia baked ham and Southern Fried Chicken to her Asian stir fry? 😀

      • Hyperion said,

        Oh Dear Hairy Krispner! The evil is certainly upon us but not unexpected as one wanders around the ninth ring of hell. The Arch Angels of the Trinity do have free passes to snatch the worthy repenters and deposit them on paradise should space be available. Perhaps it was your turn. Oh yes indeedy, Tessie Mae was the one that introduced good southern fried charm to the followers of the jolly one. You obviously get good intel from Renfield and Michelangelo the psychic lobster. 😁

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        The best intel in the world. 😎😎

      • Hyperion said,

        😉👍🏼

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        👌👍🕵️🦂🐹

  2. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    OH! This is so wonderful and exciting! 🙂
    I was just so sure something good was “around the corner” for you!
    Just wild how “around the corner” was quite a journey! 😀
    I try to not be flustered when things don’t go like I thought they would, or like I see them in my head…you never know when a detour is exactly where you need to be! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

