Orson Welles and The Woman of Mystery Part 2

August 9, 2017 at 5:48 pm (Arts, Entertainment, Film, Movies, Mystery, Romance, Science-Fiction, The Supernatural, Vampire novel, western) (, , , , , , )

Orson Welles and The Woman of Mystery Part 2

It turned out that Serena was a screenplay writer.

“A screenplay?” Welles reached for her script, “And what sort of screenplay have you written?”.

“It’s for a Western,” Serena replied.

“Really?” Welles raised an eyebrow, “I was just contemplating whether I should make a Western. You must have read 📖 my mind.”

“It’s a great mind to read, Mr. Welles,” Serena smiled at him.

“Thank you, my dear,” Welles started to read through her script.

When he had finished reading, Welles peered at Serena, his eyes looking at her just above the script.

“So, let me get this straight,” Welles looked at Serena, “this Wild West saloon bartender named Belvedere is still a virgin at 45 years of age. He is propositioned by one of the recently hired working girls at the saloon/bordello (which Belvedere naively doesn’t know is a bordello as well as a saloon) to come up to her room above the saloon and sleep with her. When he wakes up the next morning after a night of passionate lovemaking, not only is his virginity now gone but he’s received a bill for $20 as the price of payment for her sleeping with him.”

“That is correct,” Serena sat on Welles’ desk and crossed her lovely nylon clad legs as she smoothed her skirt.

“Ah, those glory days of the Wild Wild West,” Welles smiled, “it’s considerably more than $20 for such services these days.”

Serena looked at him.

“Or so I’ve been told,” Welles cleared his throat.

Serena just smiled.

“And then,” Welles returned to the script, “when Belvedere refuses to pay her, she uses an ancient Egyptian spell to turn him into a white salamander. In fact a colour of white that was ghostly white in colour so he becomes a ghost white salamander.”

“That is correct,” Serena nodded.

“And then in a panic once he discovers that he’s become a ghost white salamander, Belvedere runs down the outside stairwell of The Wild Tomatoes and Mushroom Saloon and jumps into the Main Street of the town where he is promptly run over by a covered wagon heading west. He dies instantly and becomes the ghost of a ghost white salamander.”

“You’ve got it,” Serena threw back her hair and smiled at him.

“You know,” Welles sat there and reflected, “years ago when I was in my radio studio in New York City 🌃 and doing my final script reading of the Mercury Theatre On The Air’s War of The Worlds broadcast before it was actually broadcast over the airwaves, a ghost white salamander named Belvedere appeared to me and told me a similar story of what had happened to him. Later I just thought I had fallen asleep at the microphone 🎤 while rehearsing and dreamed the whole thing.”

“Maybe you didn’t dream the whole thing,” Serena uncrossed and crossed her legs again.

“I must say,” Welles laughed, “that I love the idea of the proprietress of this Wild Tomatoes and Mushroom Saloon where Belvedere works being Sherlock Holmes’ lesser known twin sister Sherrielock Holmes who’s a professional dominatrix by profession.”

“It makes for interesting reading doesn’t it?” Serena laughed.

“And for even more interesting camera 🎥 angles and close-up shots,” Welles mused aloud with a huge smile on his face, “I particularly love the directions in the script where the saloon/bordello’s new working girl Serena… say that just hit me now… same name as yours… has a classic old style railway watch that hangs on a chain down the middle of her bosom.”

“Yes, Belvedere really liked that,” Serena smiled, “he was always asking what time it was.”

Welles looked at her and laughed, “You almost talk like you were there.”

Serena just smiled and said nothing.

“Funny that dream… or what I thought was a dream the day I was rehearsing for that evening’s War of The Worlds broadcast back on October 30th 1938, Belvedere the ghost white salamander told me that he thought it was a gypsy he didn’t pay for sleeping with him who turned him into a ghost white salamander,” Welles recalled.

“It wasn’t a gypsy,” Serena pulled a classic vintage antique railway watch on a chain up from her blouse, “it was a time traveler.”

“A time traveler?” Welles smiled at her, “so we have a movie that’s both a Western and Science-Fiction at the same time?”.

“That is correct,” Serena put the antique railway watch back down her blouse undoing some buttons at the top.

Welles had noticed this action.

“I say,” Welles said to her, “you wouldn’t happen to know what time it is would you?”.

-A vampire novel chapter
written by Christopher
Saturday August 5th
2017.

8 Comments

  1. Aak fictionspawn said,

    That would be nice. A screenwriter walking into my life telling me she wanted to make a monster movie. Just have your pick, dear. Interesting interpretation of Orson Welles’ personality.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks very much.

      Yes, Orson Welles is a man whose personality I’m very much drawn to.

      I always enjoyed watching his movies and watching him being interviewed on The Merv Griffin Show.

      Welles in fact is my film making hero.

      I had moved to Vancouver British Columbia back in 2012 with the intention of eventually attending the Vancouver Film School to take courses in Film Directing and Screenplay Writing and become a director and screenplay writer like Welles.

      Unfortunately the Estate lawyer handling my dad’s Estate ate up most of the money I was supposed to get in legal fees (charged to his own incompetence) and I couldn’t afford to take the courses.

      I remember back in early 2016 when I still had cable and could watch TCM (Turner Classic Movies), they showed a movie called Mr. Arkadin which Welles wrote, directed and starred in.

      I put on the TV halfway through the film (so I don’t know about the whole film) but listening to the dialogue, when one character said something, I thought to myself, How I would respond if I was writing the script?

      And the other character would then respond using the same words I’d have used.

      And it continued like this through the rest of the film.

      It was pretty eerie actually.

      If Orson Welles had died before I was born, I might have thought I was a reincarnation of Welles.

      But he died after I was born so I’m not his reincarnation.

      Still it’s strange the way I’m drawn to the man’s personality and how I tend to think like him.

      When I was a kid, it was actress Rita Hayworth I had the biggest crush on of all the late old time Golden Age of Hollywood female movie stars.

      Later I discovered of course that Welles was in fact married to Rita Hayworth.

      So he and I both share similar tastes in women.

      I remember on the last interview Orson Welles gave Merv Griffin just hours before Welles died, Welles said his biggest regret in life was allowing his marriage to Rita Hayworth to fail.

      • Aak fictionspawn said,

        Hmmmm… Maybe you should have been the one in his place 😉 I guess you were just a little bit too late.

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        I guess I was.

        LOL !

      • Aak fictionspawn said,

        I’m just putting on The War of the Worlds right now, the original movie. Thanks for reminding me, I hadn’t seen it 🙂

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Is it the movie you’re watching?

        Or Orson Welles’ 1938 radio broadcast of The War of The Worlds you’re listening to?

        Orson Welles never made a movie of The War of The Worlds.

        But he did do a radio broadcast in October 1938 that became world famous.

        If you google Orson Welles War of the Worlds 1938- there are plenty of places on the Net you can listen to or even download recordings of the broadcast for free.. 🙂

  2. doesitevenmatter3 said,

    Great chapter! 🙂
    Mr. Welles was an amazing, intelligent, interesting man!
    Years ago, I saw a documentary Prodigal Sons. In doing interviews and research, the film maker (Kimberly Reed) finds out her adopted brother, Marc, was the secret grandson of Orson Welles and Rita Hayworth. Orson Welles never knew about Marc. It is a very interesting, sad story.
    HUGS!!!

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thanks very much, Carolyn. 😊

      No, I’d never heard that the grandson of Orson Welles and Rita Hayworth had been adopted and that Orson Welles never knew about that grandson.

      Very sad 😭 story indeed.

Leave a Reply

