The Giant Rat of Sumatra

September 16, 2015 at 7:37 pm (Detective story, Horror, Mystery, Mystery/horror, The Supernatural, Vampire novel) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

The Giant Rat of Sumatra

Back in late January and early February of 2010, I started writing a Sherlock Holmes novella called The Giant Rat of Sumatra.

I managed to write 13 chapters to it.

Then in mid-February of 2010, my dad started to come down with an illness that the doctors later diagnosed as cancer.

He died in June of 2010.

The next few years saw me dealing with legal battles over my father’s Estate and dealing with incompetent lawyers and even more incompetent Estate executors.

So I never got around to finishing it- my novella.

A couple of days ago, I decided to go back and read those novella chapters I had written.

One thing that struck me as I went back to reading what I had written 5 years ago was the shear contempt with which I regarded lawyers- a contempt that struck me as being quite prophetic in lieu of what was to happen to me over the course of the next 4 years.

I had indeed quite an ensemble of memorable characters in those chapters- in addition to Conan Doyle’s legendary detective figure of Sherlock Holmes, I had veterinarian Fred Clegg (modeled on my great-grandfather), Captain Heelander, Vittoria Donna Gina, Hemlock The Magician, Magus Steinenfrank and even Darwin the Sumatran orangutan and Krakatoa the Sumatran tiger.

Within the next few weeks, I’m going to see if I can’t finally finish this novella.

In the meantime for readers here who never read my early chapters, here are the links to those chapters of my novella The Giant Rat of Sumatra- a story for which I think the world is now prepared:

Links Giant Rat of Sumatra

The Giant Rat of Sumatra Links

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/01/giant-rat-of-sumatra.html

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/01/giant-rat-of-sumatra-part-ii.html

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/01/giant-rat-of-sumatra-part-iii.html

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/01/giant-rat-of-sumatra-part-iv.html

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/01/giant-rat-of-sumatra-part-v.html

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/01/giant-rat-of-sumatra-part-vi.html

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/02/giant-rat-of-sumatra-part-vii.html

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/02/giant-rat-of-sumatra-part-viii.html

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/02/giant-rat-of-sumatra-part-viiia-ix.html

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/02/giant-rat-of-sumatra-part-x.html

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/02/giant-rat-of-sumatra-part-xi.html

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/02/giant-rat-of-sumatra-part-xii.html

http://thevampiresamurai.blogspot.ca/2010/02/giant-rat-of-sumatra-part-xiii.html

22 Comments

  1. Nicholas C. Rossis said,

    So wonderful you’re now ready to return to it! Whenever you do finish it, I’d be happy to beta-read for you, if you so wish.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Have you had the chance to read any of the chapters in my Sherlock Holmes novella yet, Nicholas?

      • Nicholas C. Rossis said,

        Erm, I would if you had sent it! I’ve only read the ones online so far. Great stuff, but I stopped to wait for the full novella!

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Oh, I see. 🙂

        Well, it will be probably be another month before all my concluding chapters are on-line.

        It takes me a long while to write them and an even longer while to fully edit them.

        I’ve written Chapter 14 but I’m now going through the long tedious process of editing it.

        I probably have another 3 or 4 chapters to go before I finish the novella itself.

        I was just wanting your opinion on the 13 chapters I wrote back in 2010.

        Daniel and Sherrie have been reading them and letting me know what they thought of what they’ve read so far. 🙂

      • Nicholas C. Rossis said,

        Oh, right! Well, I’ve loved what I’ve read so far, which is why I stopped. Makes sense, doesn’t it? 😀

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, it does.

        LOL ! 😀

  2. Dracul Van Helsing said,

    I must admit, Nicholas, I had to google “beta-read” to see what that was. 🙂

    Please do read the chapters I’ve got above here and let me know what you think of them so far.

  3. Sherrie de Valeria said,

    Oh, this is great, Chris!
    I’ll take my time to read all of this after coming home from work.
    Will sip my tea and eat some cheese or strawberries with it. 🙂

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Sounds like a great thing to do, Sherrie. 🙂

      Particularly the eating of cheese as it’s the eating of cheese that’s one of the clues into Sherlock Holmes solving the mystery. 🙂

      • Sherrie de Valeria said,

        Oh, yes! The rat and the cheese. The more make it mysteriously cheesie!
        …. Hmmm … I’m not sure what I am writing here! LOL hahaha …

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

        Mysteriously cheesy. 😀

        Love that expression.

        “What is that fragrance in the room, Holmes?”.

        “I would have to say it’s mysteriously cheesy like a green moonlit sky.”

      • Sherrie de Valeria said,

        hahaha …
        The Science of Deduction, Watson! The Science of Deduction!

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        LOL !

        Build a better mouse trap and the world will come to your door, Watson!

        But the Giant Rat of Sumatra will only come if it’s mysteriously cheesy! 😛

      • Sherrie de Valeria said,

        Mysteriously cheesy! And green!
        An original from the South Pacific Island. lol

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Yes, a magic mushroom cheese omelette from the South Pacific! 🙂

  4. Hyperion said,

    So glad you went back to it, Chris. I look forward to the reading.

    • Dracul Van Helsing said,

      Thank you, Daniel.

      I hope you enjoy reading it. 🙂

      Looking forward to your and Nicholas’ and Sherrie’s opinion on it.

      • Hyperion said,

        First Chapter is a keeper! Will spelunk into the depth of it tomorrow when I have some sunlight to protect me 🙂

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        Thank you, Daniel. 🙂

        Glad to hear the first chapter is a keeper. 🙂

        Because as writers we all know that first chapter is very important to getting our readers hooked. 🙂

        And then we can reel them in like Stephen King would do to a vampiric fish. 🙂

      • Hyperion said,

        Consider me hooked 🙂

      • Dracul Van Helsing said,

        🙂

  5. Part XIV The Giant Rat of Sumatra | Dracul Van Helsing said,

Leave a comment